We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor at best”
Review of Pier107

Pier107
Ranked #268 of 641 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: US$29 - US$199
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Pier 107 has developed from the bases of African and Indian influences to that of an establishment with a highly sought-after cuisine, and proudly South African and enormous international and historical reputation.
Restaurant details
Description: Pier 107 has developed from the bases of African and Indian influences to that of an establishment with a highly sought-after cuisine, and proudly South African and enormous international and historical reputation.
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We arrived at the South Beach Garden Court at 20:30 after a flight from Lanseria, and soon went looking for something to eat. Chose not to eat in the hotel, as would eat there over the weekend. A couple of 100 meters along the Esplanade was the restaurant Pier 107.

The level of service was very poor; after a wait had to go and request a waiter to serve us! Ordered steaks, after a wait the waiter returned to advise that they do not have steaks despite being a Grill, and only had curries (not a good idea 30 hours before the Comrades Marathon) and ribs. The ribs when they arrived were good, despite being served on grubby tables.

The parade of hookers walking past, loitering on the corner before being picked up or moving on provided some relief from the fagrants and beggars. I will not eat there (again unless I had other motives)!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Severely mediocre experience at best. Grubby tables and chairs. Table wiped by waiter with a paper serviette not cleaned properly. Draught beer flat. Menu reminiscent of 20 years ago, but without the "charm". When asking about the vegetarian options, I was told they don't cater for vegetarians, but there is one salad or a toasted sandwich - no vegetable or bean curry?? Curry is their speciality??? Nice view of the ocean, but bothered by beggars and vagrants from the time we sat down. Place seriously needs a cleaning too. Never again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stumbled on this cosy beachfront restaurant when getting something to drink after our long walk on the beach which was just a block away from where we stayed at Marine Parade garden court hotel for 3 nights before our family Msc Opera Cruise from Durban to Mozambique 2-6 Dec 2013.I had a mussel soup starter & prawns,Hubby had the calamari & rib combo, my 2 adult sons enjoyed a bunny chow & buffalo wings. They had various types of food on their menu which was awesome and we came back the next evening because their prices were reasonable as well. All the food was divine, Service excellent,the music & vibe great. Will definitely recommend and when visiting Durbs in the near future, we will surely pop in again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shanjakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We decided to visit Pier 107 as it was a beach front venue as well as seafood!
The worst ever and would not recomend it at all.
I has a sole that tasted like it had been sitting in the freezer for months, it was cooked in an oily Batter and served with "stale rice". The bottle of water ordered was expired! Need I say more!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MONIQUE2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

1  Thank giangi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Pier107, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier107 also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Pier107? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing