We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome stay”
Review of Ridgeview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ridgeview Lodge
Ranked #17 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
1 review
“Awsome stay”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

this was the most pleasant stay ever. Tosca and Gary were just to great and friendly. the view at ridge view was great and also the designation was pin point. i would recommend this place to anyone....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nazeem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goadmin, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Greetings Nazeem, many thanks for the review and especially that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope that you are have recovered from all the wedding celebrations. Happy New Year. Gary & Tosca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    30
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
45
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Thanks for looking after me great stay breakfast wonderful fantadtic veiw over the harbour. Tosca and Gary intresting with a wide knowledge of the arra and its history thank you for making me feel welcome

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goadmin, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thanks Rene for staying with us, its always a pleasure to have such wonderful guests staying, very happy that you enjoyed your stay in "Faulty Towers"....Peter, best regards and speedy recovery, we look forward to hosting you in the future, Christmas Greetings, Gary & Tosca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Staying at this lodge felt more like staying at home. They took really good care of us. I would recommend this place to anyone who needs a quiet and comfortable place to stay. It was an amazing place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dushen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goadmin, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Greetings Dushen, a very big thank you for submitting a review, your aunt and cousin are two very special people who we had the pleasure of hosting, your comfort and satisfaction are paramount in our endevour to meet guests expectations, thanks once again, we look forward to hosting you in the future and a speedy recovery to your uncle Gary & Tosca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

the guesthouse was very nice (rooms,clean,location...). the view is fantastic especially at night. the staff is very friendly and helpful. we loved the bar-ending a day with a glass of wine and enjoy the view over durban is just perfect

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our room was very nice and clean, good and fresh breakfast, great view from veranda and gorgeous garden, very safe neighborhood. Highly recommend this place!
We spent a wonderful time here, really loved Tosca and Gary.
Greetings from Romania!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

An excellent stay and anticipate a return in 2014. Tosca runs a fantastic operation and gets to know eachg one of her guests. She frequently asks if everything is OK just to ensure that all is good. Her guests are her priority and it clearly shows. Really enjoyed getting to know Tosca's mother who greeted you every morning by name and after the first day, she knew what food you were going to order. Lovely people and we'll see you next year. Hello to all

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goadmin, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Greetings John, firstly, many thanks for the review posting, fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with our "family", and secondly, yes we most certainly look forward to seeing you again and hope that we can maintain our efforts of offering "home away from home".......the other half...Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Once again we had a fantastic stay at Ridgeview. Many thanks to Tosca for allowing us to have an early checkin despite the lodge being frantically busy and for also taking care of the wine we shipped up a few days earlier. Your breakfasts are a real winner and I must take my hat off to you for your consistency. So sorry we missed Gary, but hope that you had a good break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,395 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
5.3 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Villa Valencia
Villa Valencia
#142 of 255 in Durban
21 reviews
1.3 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#156 of 255 in Durban
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeview Lodge

Property: Ridgeview Lodge
Address: 17 Loudoun Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ridgeview Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durban's leading, triple award winning, 4 star graded, owner managed guest house...Situated high on the Berea ridge with panoramic city port views, swimming pool, pub, secure parking and peaceful surroundings. Bedrooms en-suite, air con, TV, telephone, safety deposit, , refreshments. Close to restaurants, golf, 2010 fifa stadium, beach, shopping, just perfect, 25 minutes away from the airport Free Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ridgeview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing