We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“durban spa relaxation”
Review of Durban Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durban Spa
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 24 June 2012

stayed at durban spa off season. was pleasant and relaxing. good place to take the family.

Room Tip: had a room facing the sea as well as the harbour
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abusufyaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Durban Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Spent 5 nights there while attending a tourism exhibition in Durban. I found the rooms to be spacious, comfortable and clean - stayed in a two bedroom, one bathroom, kitchen/lounge apartment.

I didnt use the hotels facilities so cannot comment on these but the strong chlorine smell from the pool was noticeable in the corridors and lobby.

The highlight was watching the sunrise over the Indian Ocean from the spacious balcony and my morning walks down the new and vastly improved Durban beachfront, just over the road. I felt quite safe walking along the beachfront and the OR Tambo Parade (previously known as Marine Parade) even late at night, police were always visible (though this may have been due to the Tourism Indaba). I wouldn't however recommend venturing into the streets behind the hotel on foot, particularly at night.

On site parking was safe and secure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The booking was done last year and I found the reservations staff although a bit slow on the response, very helpful and they made a plan to still find us something for INDABA.

We got a flat on the 10th floor, with 2 bathrooms. All was very clean and we could see that the SPA have put in considerable renovations since we last visited it in May 2010.

It is self catering, and really have the best selection of crockery, pans, etc that I have yet found in any accommodation of this type. Safe parking was also offered at a small extra charge.

The location was walking distance to Ushaka Marine world, and it was on the Golden Mile with a children entertainment and water world right in front.

The beds was great, but we were a bit cold at night and the pillows was very hard (but that is a personal preference).

I loved taking a swim in the heated pools in the evening, it was quite relaxing.

This place is not for the luxury traveler, but a family or someone like me on business that just need a good clean and friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first 3 floors have balconies, but is very noisy. The ones higher up have more bed...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AfricanProfileSaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I enjoyed every moment of my stay. I loved where it was situated, everything was a walking distance and I didn't spend too much time on the road while driving.

I'm definitely coming back with my friends in September!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peaches_B21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The location is fantastic but the room we stayed in where not up to standard! It was dirty and the place feels rundown. The staff were very polite and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveladventure101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

durban spa is a marvelous hotel to stay in. Its wonderful view a well organised place. Good quality staff. Friendly and calm. Very clean

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happym35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Me and ny boyfriend went for vacation and booked for four nights and we arrived way before the checking time , from the front office to the security everybody was so helpful they asked us to go out for breakfast and familiarise ourselves with the city while they are preparing our room. In about 3 hours we got a call from the hotel telling us that the room Is ready we can come and check in. The room was very clean and spacous. Even though we had a partly view of the sea but the service was xcellent!!! We loved the heated pool and the jaccuzzi I'm going back there again in November this time m taking my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#33 of 43 in Durban
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durban Spa

Address: 57 Marine Parade | P.O. Box 11671, Durban 4056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Beach Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Durban
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Durban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durban Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing