We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and central location”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Well appointed real estate. Very close to the harbor, beach, museum, market and Wharf restaurants.

The hotel is an old property well maintained and functional with comfortable rooms. Quite ordinary but functional

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank Akin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

While nothing special, the Albany is a convenient, clean, and safe place in downtown Durban just across from the City Center. A decent filling breakfast is included. Museums and markets are nearby and buis service gets you to many of the Durban sights along the beach front.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEEZER_TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Last year In Durban, I had a very unpleasant stay at a hotel I had frequented for 40+ years. Looking for a similar high-rise with views I chose the Albany. I had a lovely view, but the incessant hooting of taxis forces you to close the windows!!!!! The bath with a fixed glass half panel is virtually impossible to get in if you are elderly, with stiff joints etc. A BIG PROBLEM FOR ME! The entrance is also situated in a one way street with a noisy bar a few meters away. Once inside the building, I felt safe, with Yvonne and her staff as ever very friendly and helpful. A bar fridge would be fantastic........or at least have a few on standby for a nominal fee. I'm sure your guests would gladly pay for the privilege.
I'll be back when next in Durban

Room Tip: Higher floors to get away from the taxi hooting (not the hotel's problem)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Some feedback....

The Rooms should have a Bar Fridge and Room service should be available 24 hours with Snacks and food.

Further more , Great two days at the Hotel and Yvonne (Receptionist) Was
Amazing and very Helpful ...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Waleed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
5  Thank Roshni R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were very pushed getting in anywhere in Durban the weekend we were there due to the Travel Expo so we booked into The Albany not knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised! Although the hotel is not over looking the beach it is superbly located in the heart of the city across from City Hall - this made it very easy to get around. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff were fantastic! The restaurant staff were so lovely and the service very quick and the Reception staff friendly and extremely helpful. They looked after us very well!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This 3 star hotel lives up to its grading, the room was clean and up to standard, the food value for money, but the service, friendliness and eager staff members was definately the most memorable part of our stay.
The only down side was the location of the hotel which made me a little uncomfortable (at night) allthough the friendly doorman was always there to help (calling Taxi's, running to the local cafe to buy our essentials and bring to our room etc.). Keeping in mind that the location is not something the hotel can change and that the staff are allways eager to help with anything, I can definatly recommend this hotel. It is definatly value for money and the rooms even exceeded my expectations.
A big thank you to all the staff at the Albany we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The 10th and 11th floors should be the best option as it is further away from the street noice that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 44 in Durban
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#35 of 44 in Durban
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
SUN1 Durban
SUN1 Durban
#28 of 44 in Durban
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#24 of 44 in Durban
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parade Hotel
Parade Hotel
#26 of 44 in Durban
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coastlands Durban
Coastlands Durban
#13 of 44 in Durban
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Address: 225 Smith Street | Albany Grove, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: £32 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albany Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The Hotel offers business conference and function facilities from small to large events. We have three business conference venues available with seating capacity of up to 120 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing