We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Clean”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Being a regular visitor to Durban on business, its important that I get the best value for my money. I can happily say that staying at the Albany Hotel is real value for money. The
hotel rooms are clean and bathrooms are spot on. The service is excellent. Parking is a problem, but Front desk can arrange under cover parking at a parkade nearby. I will recommend this hotel anytime.

Room Tip: Take a room on the higher floor to avoid street noise if you are light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zidane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Hotel is nearby city hall of Durban, close to the shopping area, not far from the promenade and the sea world. Rooms are large and the hotel looks renovated. BUT the staff makes the stay a disaster!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed here for 1 night only because it was a last minute thing and most hotels were full. The area outside the hotel unfortunately is not very safe and there are lots of shady looking people in the area at night so exercise caution. The hotel room I got was on the 8th floor, a family room with a double bed and 2 single beds. The rooms seem ok, they have been refurbished but still the floor below the carpet is creaky, hairdryer does not work, shower is not the cleanest and is too short for tall people (I am 1,78 metres). The bed unfortunately sagged in the centre, there was a spider on my pillow. The bathrooms are really small, bath tub is tiny. Quality of towels is not that great. On check in the room card would not work and that took a while to fix. I do not like the lifts. They make some weird sounds. The staff however are really friendly and sadly this is the only positive thing about my stay. If you are looking for a budget hotel that's just acceptable and nothing more, then this is the hotel. Would I return to this hotel ? Perhaps if every other hotel was sold out and I had nowhere else to stay.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel that's in a safer area. Its not worth the risk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Good value for money.We applaud the experience.The staff are very friendly and welcoming,especially the catering department.The hotel is clean and well maintained.Yes,it may be located in an area with all sorts of activity happening,but I still believe the hotel itself provides enough safety.Durban is a city of mixed environments.There's nothing Albany can do but to be an oasis...Awesome place to retreat!!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter and cosier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John Tabvuma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The staff were very helpful and the room and bathroom were spotless.
Yes the entrance is right near a night club and it felt very dodgy but hey you are in the middle of the city centre!
The Lindt chocolate on the pillow was a lovely touch for a hotel that was very inexpensive.
The flat TV with DSTV and working aircon were appreciated too.
The breakfast was plentiful and very cheerily served at 3am especially for the runners! :-)
All in all a lovely stay and definately value for money.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

While the hotel is quite close to the ICC and definitely within walking distance, it is definitely not located somewhere safe. The alleyway in which the entrance is very dodge and seemed to contain a drug/prostitute place. I did not feel safe at all (especially being a woman) and the parking also closes just before 12am.

The room smelled stuffy and the shower was incredibly tiny.

The linen seemed clean and the rooms got cleaned once per day.

A colleague of mine said he had a cockroach on his bed the first evening we stayed there and friends of my other colleagues told them that the area is shady.

Quite a few people in the group that stayed at the hotel had upset stomachs when they ate breakfast there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rushka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I was really pleasantly surprised, this hotel was excellent value for money with lovely rooms, a more than substantial buffet and a great price! I would definitely stay here again!!! Oh and its right opposite the City hall so transport is easy!

Room Tip: Ensure that you ask for a room away from the lift, its noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sooziecapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Parade Hotel
Parade Hotel
#23 of 43 in Durban
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#24 of 43 in Durban
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#31 of 43 in Durban
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Address: 225 Smith Street | Albany Grove, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: £27 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albany Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The Hotel offers business conference and function facilities from small to large events. We have three business conference venues available with seating capacity of up to 120 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing