We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The rennovation had degrade qualityand space for room.
The Staff moved to other rooms but they were also almost the same.
Room size is almost cut into half.
Albany was much better 2 years ago.Breakfast was okies,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ashtasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Although the hotel was pretty much as advertised via the web, there were a few niggles and three very telling episodes to highlight some exceptions:

We checked in on a Sunday as we had a gala event to attend, but the hotel had no iron or ironing service for us to prepare our outfits and when we demanded an iron, we were told the only iron they have is locked away and no one on duty has a key.

Although fairly high up, the street is exceptionally noisy (not to hotel's fault, admittedly) - but guests should be forewarned to allow them to make an informed decision, or complimentary ear plugs should be provided. We left 2 days later ratty and sleep deprived.

Our last night we decided to order room service, since the breakfast was ok, we thought we'd receive an edible meal. The steak was truly inedible, impossible to cut and the bit I managed to tear off, was so tough and flavorless that I left it half chewed. I complained to the front desk in the morning but was met with a total lack of interest and zero willingness to remove this meal from our bill (even though I sent it back with only one bite taken).

The overall feeling is that not a lot needed to be done to bring this hotel back up to standard, but that management was sorely lacking.

Room Tip: Get as far away from street level as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank the_forest_fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My second time stayin g at the hotel. I have to admid my first time were not so wonderfull. My second stay were perfect. I stayed in RM32. I fell in love with the lovley carpet and the new renovations that has been done so far. Only breakfast that has to look at more varieties of food to eat. Staff are fiendly and very helpfull. I will stay again at the this hotel. Perfect location, Value for money paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had to put up friends at the last minute during the busy tourism indaba in Durban and found this place had rooms at the last minute.

Think due to location it is avoided but service was great and the room was quite big-had like a double and single bed so we could have put in three people if we wanted.

For the price you can't expect a top notch establishment so overall it offered good value for money and seems secure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Q b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice, there seems to be shortage of waiters/waitresses, the renovation seems to have affected overall service. The restaurant menu is however very limited and snack-like. Wireless internet did not work for the entire period and it seemed difficult to resolve the problem

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kagiso A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked into The Albany Hotel on the 05/04/2014 we received efficient service from security guards on duty and prompt attendance from the receptionists on duty. The room was clean and all linen, etc was superb. We also ate in the Townhouse restaurant on the first floor, compliments to the chef and waitresses as they were very quick and friendly. A big thank you to the Albany Hotel, I will definitely recommend it to my family and friends.A very affordable and warm hotel, the alley of Albany Hotel is a bit scary at first, but that's a small price to pay for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_J0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The pictures on the website are deceiving.There is an extremely noisy notorious tavern downstairs next to the hotel with drunk people in the alley on the way to the car park which is situated 200m away. The car park facilities cost an extra R50.00 and we were told that you cannot leave after 11 pm as we would be parked out and let back in at 5 am. There are prostitutes hanging around downstairs outside the reception area with the smell of marijuana lingering in the air. Although under renovation, the reception looked scruffy like a cheap motel. The elevators did not work properly either.The rooms smell musty and the bathroom is small and looked dirty. The only thing good was the 32" plasma tv mounted on the wall. Paid R400.00 deposit and balance on arrival but once we had a look at the room, we left. It was an awful experience as we then had to find accommodation at 9pm after a long trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Miss_LynL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Parade Hotel
Parade Hotel
#23 of 43 in Durban
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#24 of 43 in Durban
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
96 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Address: 225 Smith Street | Albany Grove, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: £30 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albany Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The Hotel offers business conference and function facilities from small to large events. We have three business conference venues available with seating capacity of up to 120 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing