We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean value option close to ICC”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The Albany is not the best hotel in Durban, but it's a very respectable value option. I stayed here for almost a week while attending a conference at the Convention Center. With relatively limited funds, I looked for safe, decent lodging near the center. For a tourist trip, I'd consider something on the beachfront, but I will recommend the Albany for conference folk.

Positives:
* You can safely walk to and from the ICC in the day. There's lots of office people on the journey. It's about 10-15 minutes to the arena entrance. You can't do this after dark, but then you can't walk many places in Durban at night.
* The city bus stops on the block. There's security on this bus. You can go to the beach, Victoria Street market, Suncoast casino, and Ushaka via the bus for R15 or less roundtrip. During daytime hours, it's a great option.
* The rooms, though older, are clean and big enough.
* The breakfast buffet is good, with a huge variety of meat. One tip is that you have to ask to order eggs or waffles. For dinner, though, I suggest the Royal on the next block, which has real places to eat.

Negatives:
* Beachfront hotels have better views and things to see. This is a central city location.
* No pool or fitness center.
* No Internet access. Don't believe the website - the "Business Centre" is one older computer in a corner. This could be a deal breaker for a conference person.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2009

I booked this hotel on the strength of previous reviews on this site. I can honestly say that I have never had worse service. The receptionist was paging through a magazine and only looked up when I greeted her. She also informed us that there was no parking available for hotel guests. The receptionist on duty the next day was talking loudly on the 'phone about his chances of being reconciled with his wife. He had no interest in the people standing around, waiting to be attended to. The service in the restaurant was laughable. I got my warm white wine with my dessert. The rooms were very clean but the air conditioner was so loud that we switched it off. BEcause of the heat we had to open the windows, which meant we had to contend with the noise of the fights that broke out in front of the bar on the ground floor of the hotel. The hotel is ideally situated if you want to walk to the ICC or Kingsmead but next time I'd rather drive and park across the ICC for R10 a day.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Com4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Booked this hotel for four nights threw www.booking.com also after reading reviews here.
The location is good and close to any transport and attractions.
Room was clean and big and staff was helpfull.
Restaurant was a bit disapointment but as a whole it was a good choice !

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pazitush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

The hotel, an art-deco building reminiscent of the classic hotels of Miami, had been newly renovated to a very high standard, and the quality of our room and en-suite bathroom was exceptional.

The rates were very reasonable for the high standard offered, and the staff very welcoming and helpful during our stay.

We will certainly stay at the Albany again on our next visit to Durban, and highly recommend the hotel.

David Ward
Brussels, Belgium
22 October 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Expat-in-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank suarez1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alvaro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoniony_vix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Parade Hotel
Parade Hotel
#23 of 43 in Durban
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#24 of 43 in Durban
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#31 of 43 in Durban
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Address: 225 Smith Street | Albany Grove, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: £27 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albany Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The Hotel offers business conference and function facilities from small to large events. We have three business conference venues available with seating capacity of up to 120 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing