We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for money!”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Randburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value for money!”
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Looks are very deceiving! The outside of the hotel looks run down, but once you enter the front door it changes. The hotel is very clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. The best part of the hotel are the rooms, very clean and comfortable. In room amenities is much more than you would expect from a 3 Star property. The only thing is that it is not in the best of ares.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesleydey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    30
    26
    15
See reviews for
24
27
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

I stayed at The Albany for 4 nights and felt positively unsafe the whole time. I was told the hotel is walking distance to the ICC but what I was not told is that the area the hotel is in is unsavoury at best. There is no way it is safe to walk anywhere from this hotel.
On the Friday night, the room next door to me opened and closed every half hour with lots of people coming and going...the person who got into the lift with me that came out of this room was seriously dodgy. The barber shop/bar which opens into the hotel reception gave the hotel a seedy air at night
The breakfast was OK, the dinner certainly not. The reception staff were efficient but not overly friendly.
The bed was comfortable, the linen clean and the room was cleaned daily.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingnomad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Stayed at the Albany while attending a conference at the ICC, the company I worked for at the time went for one of the cheaper options for accomodation. The Albany did the job just fine though, its pretty basic but considering all I really did was sleep and have breakfast there it was just fine. The room I was in was pretty small but sufficient, the shower was pretty small, if you're a big person you may struggle. Breakfast was great though! It is within walking distance of the ICC.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

This hotel is located in a dangerous part of Durban. A taximan informed us after that it was known for drugs and prostitutes. When dark, everything nearby is closed. The management were not in anyway nice. It calls itself an "art-deco" hotel. No evidence of this. Rooms were basic. The doors had several locks. Loud neighbours. Fellow hotel guests included somebody who went by the name "Bombay Dreams". Need I say more.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank cdeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I have just stayed at the Albany Hotel in Durban which is next door to the ICC International Convention Centre in Durban for a conference. I was very happy as the hotel was close to the ICC and was very nicely appointed. Usaully I stay at the Hilton but it was not available and also much more expensive. The Albany Hotel offered excellent value for money and the rooms were superb, with marble bathrooms... so I was very happy. In fact I would say it is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in a while. Breakfast buffet was huge even waffles and cream were on the menu. Views of the city were good and generally I was very happy. It cost me about ZAR 450 a night with breakfast, so a good deal. It is not very well known so probably could be described as a hidden jewel. The GM Charlene?? was very pleasant and helpful arranging a lift to the airport. Thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorkerinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

The hotel was very conveniently located in central Durban, near the Albert Luthuli Conference Centre I was attending. I also managed to take in a show one evening at the Durban Play House next door to the hotel. The room was of a high standard for the price, and had been recently renovated. The buffet breakfast was good, the staff were helpful and courteous and my overall impression of the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff_Murdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Stayed here for one night. Location is not the best, did not feel very safe. Main reason for choosing this hotel was that I wanted internet access, which was advertised as provide - it was removed in Jan. Hotel reception staff not very friendly when checking in or when asking about internet access. Rooms were OK. Best thing - we arrived late and the resturant stayed open so that we could have a meal. Meal was very good.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#23 of 43 in Durban
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Parade Hotel
Parade Hotel
#24 of 43 in Durban
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#31 of 43 in Durban
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Property: Albany Hotel
Address: 225 Smith Street | Albany Grove, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albany Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The Hotel offers business conference and function facilities from small to large events. We have three business conference venues available with seating capacity of up to 120 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing