We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definition of a Roach Motel”
Review of Parade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parade Hotel
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Unless you're on the 4th floor, this place is absolutely gross. We were moved twice to different rooms on the 5th floor and were basically chased out of each room by huge roaches. We were eventually relocated to a renovated room on the 4th floor, which was quite nice, but everything else was so gross, we couldn't really appreciate it. With no other 4th floor availability, the hotel had to move our friends to another hotel since no other rooms were decent. We also had issues with the water being turned off at random times. Would definitely not stay here again unless the entire place were completely redone!

Room Tip: A renovated 4th floor room is really the only option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Frustrated with a poor choice of a previous hotel (Formula 1) we stumbled upon this. Old art-deco building on the beach with large rooms. Located on a corner, so matter which room you were in, you got a view of the ocean.Close to everything. No air-conditioning, but the proximity to the Indian Ocean made for plenty of breeze, and it had a ceiling fan. Free full breakfast including eggs, bacon, sausages, minced meat, toast, juice, coffee/tea. I do not believe the restaurant was open of lunch or dinner but the plethora of eating places close by, did not bother us. Plenty of street parking. Most guests were local tourists which from South Africa added to the charm. The only thing I can complain of, is the carpeting - used and not very clean, so we made sure we always used footwear. It would be nice if the ripped the carpeting off altogether. Cost us US $75 per night for a couple. We were in a large room suitable for a family of four. Some room have bunk beds for children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the main street, which directly faces the ocean. All room have an ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kashgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

i loved everything about the place,staff, food,security shoo everthing,and its near the beach

Room Tip: "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tebogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Location-wise, it cannot get any better. It's right on the promenade, in front of Durban beach, which makes for beautiful views and sunrise photos. Parking is on the street but they have night guards. The building is old-ish and perhaps some aspects of it need a bit of attention. Carpets look tired, the interiors could do with a bit of renovation here and there but nothing major. There is also a pub beside the reception for a quiet beer if you like.

Everything worked while I was there and that's the main thing. If you want posh, go to the Southern Sun next door and pay twice the amount. The shower was good, as was the TV. There is a safe inside the wardrobe. The room looked clean every morning. Breakfast was good, not a lot of variety but quite hearty. It is a budget version of English breakfast as opposed to a full one but good nonetheless. Cereals, breads, juices, etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well.

In short, I was looking for a central budget place, with a decent level of comfort and safety. And in that, the Palace did not disappoint me. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodzep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed at the hotel from 22Feb to 24Feb 2012. The bathrooms are old, they seriously need a renovation! Breakfast was dull, with limited choice of food! There is no telephone in the room. I could not wait for my last day. What you see on their website is not true except for the fact that the hotel is next to the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moepeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This Hotel is situated in a prime area of Durban and is great for a quick overnight. We have found though that its not as clean as we would have liked. The towels had make-up marks on and the toilet was not cleaned properly although it had a nice ribbon on that said it was "Hygienically Sealed". It is also a very old hotel and maintenance is not the first priority. Very nice, but old, carpets also makes me wonder about how clean they are. We had an overall good experience and think that we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeyerVanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Parade Hotel is real value for money, we paid less than R500 per person for a weekend stay, and we had a seaview room. It is very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The location cannot be beaten, as its on the beach front and within walking distance of Ushaka Marine World and Suncoast Casino.

There was no phone or mini-bar for keeping drinks cool in the room, but for a budget hotel, its the least you need to worry about. There is a safe in the room though.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WreckHavoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#35 of 44 in Durban
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 44 in Durban
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 44 in Durban
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#23 of 44 in Durban
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#34 of 44 in Durban
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parade Hotel

Address: 191 OR Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: £29 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Parade Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parade Hotel is a Beach front Hotel located on Durban’s famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Parade Hotel specializes in offering Family Accommodation at Affordable Rates. We are a shell's throw away from the beautiful beach opposite. You can also visit the new Sun Coast Casino, only 5 minutes driving distance. By car we are less than ten minutes from Durban’s city center and five minutes away from the new International Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Parade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing