We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good conference venue, but location is out of the way”
Review of Sica's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sica's Guest House
Ranked #74 of 258 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Sica's is not close to downtown Durban or any tourist attractions, so unless you're with a conference, you'll need a car. I stayed there for three nights as part of a meeting held on the premises. This is closer to a hotel than a B and B, as there are about 40 rooms. Price is reasonable.
The premises are very pleasant. I like the tennis court, though the pool is ceremonial. Meal buffet food was above average, though not exceptional; I had no problems with variety over three days. The rooms were very clean, basically spotless. The walls are not very thick, though, particularly by the bathrooms; I could hear a neighbor's phone conversation from the desk by the window. This is not a good thing.
As a venue for a small to moderate conference, this is great. As a tourist hotel, I wouldn't suggest it, unless you like out of the way places and driving. I'd rather be near the beachfront in Durban.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2007

Just back from a 7 day stay at this lovely guest house. We left things a bit late and wanted to avoid the large city hotels and Sica turned out to be a real gem.
The local area is not much to look but once behind the driveway gates its a lovely retreat with lots of trees and green space. Its also within easy access to the motorway network.
The rooms are comfortable with everything you would need including wireless hotspot although this seemed to be affected by the recent rain and was not always working. Only downside was that there was only a shower and not a bath, and the front door had a stained glass panel so it got very lght early in the morning, a black out blind would have been a good idea.
It seemed to be mainly a conference venue with other guests rising earlier than we have become used to in the UK.
The communal areas were clean and pleasant and the breakfast buffet was good although not much variation from day to day.
The staff were great especially Zanele, Kirstenand Khulani on reception who were helpful when needed!
Guests have their own remote control for the front gate so coming and going as you please it easy!
All in all a great choice and I would go back!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Panders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Saralis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lycelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambre familiale, idéale avec des enfants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fabru4853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vraag om een kamer met airco. Er zijn drie gebouwen, waarvan er eentje alleen fans biedt. Op de bega...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenkenSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1,511 reviews
1.4 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#161 of 258 in Durban
16 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#75 of 258 in Durban
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Westville
253 reviews
3.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#12 of 258 in Durban
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sica's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sica's Guest House

Address: 19 Owen Ave | Mayville, Durban 4058, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sica's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sica's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing