We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madeline Grove Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“great place”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wow we had a great time at Madeline, we also said next time we go to Durban we going to book there again... The place is clean and neat from bed to toilet wow not forgetting their breakfast damn we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Smangele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    52
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
23
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winterton, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I chose this B&B based on the website, which made it look lovely, only to have to tie a sheet up over the bathroom window on my first night because the blinds were so badly bent I could see the garden. The manageress was unconvincingly apologetic, and promised to sort it out the next day - which involved bending some of the bent blinds straight. I'm not a snob, but I felt very cheated paying what I did, as I have been to MUCH nicer places in Durban for the same price. The breakfast was very disappointing and the staff were completely apathetic. Certainly not a mistake I will make again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoSchiever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeline G, Manager at Madeline Grove Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Ms Shriever

Madeline Grove Bed and Breakfast, Management and Staff regret that your stay was not pleasant. It is our intention is to ensure our guests are most comfortable at all times.
We offer our hot english breakfast on order, and we keep our cereal, yoghurt, fresh juice and fruit selection well stocked at all times with much seasonal variety as possible, therefor I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your breakfast and most importantly that it was not brought to my attention.
Management worked on the blinds personally to try to correct them as much as possible, however the changes were limited. We have taken action to replace the blinds.

We endeavour to maintaining the quality of our product, Madeline Grove is currently undergoing renovations and refurbishment. We thank you kindly for your feedback most appreciated.

Kind regards
Glynis - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Overall experience was nice, super close to Florida rd-where everything is happening, walked to and fro! Had a pleasant stay and would definitely stay there again! People very friendly, rooms clean and quite spacious, only odd thing was our room didn't have a fridge.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Not a very bad place, not a good place either (and definitively not as nice as shown on the website!) - The nicest thing is probably that it is very close to Florida Road - good to go out for dinner without a car, and good to have another breakfast since the one served at Madeline Grove was not one to remember...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patap0uf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The room I had was large and you can tell the place has ben around for ages. Its just far enough from Florida road to get there and to be quiet for a good nights rest when you have had enough.

Mark the manager (not sure if he owns it, didn't ask) is very friendly and happy to oblige.
My room had loads of space, there was a complete kitchenette and the bathroom had a shower only. The only negative is that the towels MUST be replaced as they are rather insipid and the aircon was broken in a way that i could not direct the air off the bed.

The breakfast is wonderful and the pool very welcoming on hot balmy Durban evenings.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2006

My colleague and I stayed here for two nights, and we were expecting four-star accommodations based on earlier reviews and the posted pictures. Our expectations were too high, unfortunately. We stayed in a suite of rooms, one of which we did not know was ours until the next day, since the staff had not given us an orientation; they just handed us the key. We arrived to our unit faced with a long flight of stairs (which was not good for my colleague with a bad hip walking on a cane) and the decision to choose one of two rooms that were opened. Unbeknownst to us, both were ours. We were also under the impression that we had to share a bathroom because of the room configurations. The bedroom doors did not lock, although the bottom door entrance does. Overall, the rooms were clean and spacious, the staff was very nice, and the general property was lovely (though there was some construction going on at the time). There are no telephones in the room, however, nor is there internet access. Breakfast includes some fruit, bread, pastries and yogurt left on the counter and in the refrigerator in the in the suite's kitchen. Though a relatively pleasant place, we expected four-star amenities, but Madeline Grove does not have those yet.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The lack of a telephone and Internet
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Prudala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2006

Stayed here a while back with a group of friends - some of whom have returned several times. Fab big & luxurious rooms, secure, friendly staff, breakfast brought to your room, lovely pool and convenient location to some great places to eat (would recommend The Butcher Boys for a fantastic steak)

Helpful?
Thank wee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.8 mi away
Riverside de Charmoy Estate Guest House
0.9 mi away
Coweys Corner
Coweys Corner
#1 of 7 in Berea
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lambert House
Lambert House
#13 of 255 in Durban
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Holland House B&B
Holland House B&B
#26 of 255 in Durban
24 reviews
4.5 mi away
Khanya Kude
Khanya Kude
#16 of 255 in Durban
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeline Grove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeline Grove Bed & Breakfast

Property: Madeline Grove Bed & Breakfast
Address: 116 Madeline Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B is situated in the leafy suburb of Morningside Durban in the quiet of Madeline Road , a step back from the hustle and bustle of Florida Road , that has become famous for it's top quality restaurants, pubs and take aways. Close to the beachfront, International Convention Centre, Sports Stadiums, Greyville race course and access roads to the city and Umhlanga, Madeline Grove is convenient for the tourist traveler and businessman alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Madeline Grove Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing