We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts and Stunning, Immaculate Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Durban View Guest House
Ranked #50 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Hosts and Stunning, Immaculate Guest House”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed with Dave & Llewellyn in April and was great to have such a warm welcome. Shortly after arrival we were shown around the best bars and restaurants in Durban

The guesthouse feels more like a home, with a large, comfortable living area, honesty bar with plenty of variety and an outdoor seating area.

The rooms are very comfortable and stylish with TV, DVD, safe, quiet air-con and a quality shower. The guesthouse also has a roof terrace with sun loungers and jacuzzi, great for relaxing in with a few drinks. Breakfast was freshly made and very tasty.

Really enjoyed our stay here. Thanks guys :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmazingSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    36
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
56
55
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the guest house. The views from my room and roof-top were beautiful as were the rooms themselves. The service and the atmosphere was very friendly. Highly recommended for gay travelers, single and couples.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2012

we stayed at this gay guesthouse during INDABA time 2012, so the house as the crest of the city was infected withthe idea of this South African Tourism show. Well, indeed, our wonderful hosts, especially the incredibly helpful and supportive Llewellyn made our stay very remarkable. He helped us wherever he could, showed us nice restaurants in the area and even dropped us by as we arrived late in the evening, did not bother to be interrupted at night from our taxidriver who could not find us, introduced us to all the other guests and always had a welcoming smile on his face. He really made this stay wonderful for us. The roof terrace offers a great view of the skyline of Durban, the jacuzzi unfortunately was a little bit too cold to spend some naked fun time in there.We can definitely recommend this place to any guy who needs a warm place away from home. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunichMucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The 1930’s architecture guest house is situated in one of Durban’s upmarket neighbourhoods (very safe). The rooms are modern and spacious (if you wanted more, ask for the garden suite). Loved the plunge pool and hot tub on the roof offering awesome views and men! A friendly atmosphere. Just relax on the veranda with a book or socialise with other gests. The hosts are just as friendly (and handsome). An honesty bar offers a wide range of soft drinks, great wines and the hard stuff. I have stayed there once and can’t wait for my next! LOVE DURBANVIEW GUEST HOUSE.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The guest house is welcoming and very friendly and exclusively gay - I think you might feel a bit out of it if you weren't gay. The rooms are all different and very comfortable and well equipped. There are some good restaurants within walking distance but you need a car or taxi to get around. I say thank goodness, because we didn't find much else to like about Durban except for one or two restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasVellano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

D&L are great hosts always ensuring that your needs are met. The city facing rooms are more than comfortable. Breakfast is adequate and in the evenings socializing at the bar, pool or on the fabulous roof deck makes for a more pleasant stay than a hotel does.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bretty111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The Durban View is an extremely welcoming little retreat in the middle of a bustling city. The guys who own and manage the place are very friendly and accommodating, and nothing seems like too much trouble! The property itself is very well equipped, with an awesome roof terrace with epic views of the beautiful skyline and the ocean - definitely a highlight! Really well located in a safe area, close to all the major sites and many restaurants/bars etc. I actually stayed here on a few separate occasions, totally 6 nights, and I think my repeat custom speaks volumes about how impressed I was. I stayed in two different rooms, with the City View room being my favourite! Fantastic view!.... If i'm ever in Durban again in the near or distant future then I will definitely be resting my head here again! Mazel tov on such a wonderful place you guys have created :) x

Room Tip: Go for the City View room in the round tower part of the guesthouse - epic views and fantastic bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,417 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
0.5 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#5 of 43 in Durban
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Garden Court Marine Parade
1.0 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durban View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durban View Guest House

Property: Durban View Guest House
Address: 16 Holstead Gardens | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on our rooftop sipping cocktails in Durban's sunny weather 12 months of the year. Great beaches, warm Indian Ocean and exclusive to our gay local and international guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing