We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Durban View Guest House
Ranked #53 of 258 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We came here to actually hold our civil ceremony and Llewellyn and Dave have made our day wonderful. Their guest house is brilliant with an amazing view from the roof terrace of Durban. These guys especially Llewellyn who is a sweetheart cannot do enough for their guests. Caroline will make you a wonderful breakfast and she the best smile in Durban which is amazing in the mornings. the rooms are clean and have every facility. This is a safe area of Durban, we actually walked all over the city and never encountered any problem. well done Llewellyn and Dave, we love ya from UK xxx

Room Tip: go for the premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunman06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Our stay on more than one occasion was absolutely wonderful...what a relaxed and friendly place to be with absolute comfort and the kind of luxury anyone would expect and at a really afforable price. Dave and Llewellyn are wonderful hosts and really make you feel welcome and as if they have known you forever...The location is also great...just a few minutes away from all the activities that Durban has to offer.
The breakfasts served are supurb and certainly dont leave you with a rumbling tummy...
We can certainly recommend this to anyone anywhere in the world and you certianly will not regret your stay at any time. We also met some amazing friends during our stays.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room off the deck...can sun bathe whilst feeling absolutely free!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickv601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The rooms are clean and modern, the bed was comfortable, and the view from the jacuzzi on the roof is incredible. The shower was huge and luxurious, and the towels and extra supplies in the bathroom were a nice touch.
Breakfasts were hearty and made to order.
Llewellyn and Dave are very friendly and very good at sorting out what you need, and the atmosphere is relaxing and fun.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glennorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

The house is brilliantly designed and furnished tastefully . There is a lot of security as well. Dave and Llewellyn are great caring hosts that are very accommodating! The location is brilliant - access to Durban city and the major eating and drinking spots in Florida road. The bar is a good spot to meet other guests. I liked it so much that I have been back and will again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adhir25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I hadn't been to Durban in nearly a decade and this was an excellent reintroduction. A very comfortable stay with its amiable and charming hosts Llewellyn and Dave. The garden bungalow was sensitively designed and very spacious; a terrific bargain, really. Breakfasts were tasty and ample. The roof deck and hot tub offer exactly what they advertise. Above all getting to know the hosts and other guests made this most worthwhile. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Garden bungalow is away from everything and quite spacious. Only downside -- beyond the owners'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gothamgourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

As the only gay guesthouse in Durban, you get what you expect.
A very design house, small pool, a roofdeck leisure area with jacuzzi and a stunning view over the city and the sea.
We stayed in the "garden bungalow" which was behind the main house. It is very large and has got also a kitchenette.
Durban View is in a residential area and therefore very quiet.
Florida street, the restaurant street, you may reach in a 15 minutes walk.
Here some of the other points you may also know :
-The bathroom in the "garden bungalow" is as small as a cupboard.
-The architecture of the house is somehow caotic, therefore you have to climb several narrow stairs to get in and out and up and down.
-The parking is maybe a problem, but the owner assist you if the guesthouse is not full.
Don't expect that you see always the owners or that they say goodbye to you, because they are not living in the house and are busy with their other businneses, therefore the guesthouse runs itsellfs with the staff.
But neverless as there is no concurrence on the gay guesthouse market, we recommand Durban View for every gay traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-PhilippeetUrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Durban View Guest House was my first experience of South Africa, and it set a high standard for everything else.

the place is just amazing, owners one of the most hospitable people ever, service, food, drinks - everything to the highest standard. it really felt like being at home - Dave and Llewellyn (the owners) went so far with their kindness, they invited me and one other guest to go to their house and share some drinks and BBQ with their friends and family.

would definitely go back, anytime! thank you for an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomislav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1,512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#161 of 258 in Durban
16 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#76 of 258 in Durban
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Westville
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Valencia
Villa Valencia
#143 of 258 in Durban
21 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durban View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durban View Guest House

Address: 16 Holstead Gardens | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £20 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on our rooftop sipping cocktails in Durban's sunny weather 12 months of the year. Great beaches, warm Indian Ocean and exclusive to our gay local and international guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing