We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for the solo traveller”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Durban View Guest House
Ranked #60 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great option for the solo traveller”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Being a small guest house it is difficult to avoid other people. Normally this would be a bad thing, but when your in holiday mood it can lead to a very social atmosphere.

The rooms were clean as was the house in General. The hosts were never too far away and always offering their assistance. The deck and spa on the roof had a great view of Durban and was great for sun baking and chilling out.

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay!

Room Tip: Some rooms just have a bath, so ask for a shower room if preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    36
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
56
55
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Perfectly situated guest house with panoramic views of the sky line and the horizon from the room top. Perfect for a little weekend get away as its peacfull and has the feel of home away from home on our doorstep in Durban. The rooms are very tastefully done and not too over the top. We were so at home at the guest house that we stayed in all weekend and drank Champers on the roof top. loved it!

Room Tip: If you want privacy then ask from the self contain flatlet at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee-anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

An impulsive decision to 'get away' for a few days (during the festive season) landed me in this relaxed and homely guest house, the owners are welcoming, friendly & helpful.The setting is quiet, tranquil & private. Although I spent a minimal amount of time at the guest house I did notice a good flow of guests arriving and leaving, a few of which I met & had a chat and a couple of drinks with - lovely people. The rates are really good and the service provided by Caroline was above par. Hey it's what you make of it!!

Room Tip: The room (separate from the main house) at the top of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here for one night, and it will be my preferred place in Durban. The flat/studio in the back garden was superb. It was like staying in "a home away from home" that was exceptionally relaxed and had all the facilities that a B&B should have. I had absolutely no complaints and can't really think of a way that the hosts could improve the venue. Obviously, it is for those who are comfortable with gays.

Room Tip: Garden studio flat is one of the best places I've stayed anywhere in the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have stayed in a few hotels and guest houses in Durban. Durban View was the best so far. It was covieniently situated to almost anything you needed and a very short trip to the beach. Amazing views from the jacuzzi deck and most importantly great people working and running the house. The overall experience ensured when I need to stay in Durbs again it will be here.

Room Tip: Personally the two rooms closest to the pool and deck access seemed better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The owners are very kindly and always trying to help. But it was my first experience in a guest house. So my opinion is if I need now to choice between a guest house and a hotel, i will choice a hotel definitely.
My room lacked a hair dryer. In three nights the towels were never changed. I saw a big dead cockroach on bathroom floor. That means didn't exist cares in check the local before the guest arrive.
You need to prepare yourself your breakfast and it is very poor. I think it's terrible.
Although it's a sweet and wonderful site.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLS201311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Although we booked this hotel 6 months in advance, we found the bathroom walls and ceilings seriously peeling. An ugly, bare pipe showed where a shower had once been. They even charged us for our "welcome drink".Our room lacked a clock and hair dryer, with the TV system impossible to operate. Other rooms remained empty while we were given this awful one. Upon checking out, repeated errors in credit card authorization resulted in my card being frozen abroad, which caused me considerable embarrassment and effort to rectify.

Only the lovely breakfast served by a charming woman proved positive here.

Room Tip: Avoid the city-view room at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrRichardLJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
606 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
0.4 mi away
Essenwood House
Essenwood House
#6 of 255 in Durban
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durban View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durban View Guest House

Property: Durban View Guest House
Address: 16 Holstead Gardens | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on our rooftop sipping cocktails in Durban's sunny weather 12 months of the year. Great beaches, warm Indian Ocean and exclusive to our gay local and international guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing