We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and well hosted”
Review of Five Burnham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Five Burnham
Ranked #20 of 250 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing and well hosted”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We enjoyed the superb setup and design of this guesthouse and the excellent service. The location is convenient for either an Umhlanga beach weekend or city trip to Durban. I can recommend Five Burnham for a holiday weekend as well as business trip accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    25
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
23
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

our host was most accommodating. My only regret was that we could not stay longer. i wish we could have stayed longer, and now I am only filling in spaces because it will not let me submit with a shorter review.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiveburnham, Manager at Five Burnham, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we were delighted to host you both. Maybe we will drop into Nairn one day.

Sheila and Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, Scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Guesthouse was everything we were looking for, a lovely spacious room, great bathroom, patio and pool.Sheila and Alan were delightful and very helpful as were the other members of their team.The nearby town had a good range of eateries, pubs and shops. Needed a car as located a walk from amenities. Felt very safe and secure here and would return.

Room Tip: The Palm Executive suite was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank st59scs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiveburnham, Manager at Five Burnham, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you both for your positive comments . We enjoy what we do here at Five Burnham, and it was a special pleasure to host you both. We hope to see you again perhaps when you feel you need some more South African sunshine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Alan and Shelia looked after me really well from the start. The bedroom was well equiped and comfortable and the breakfast good. I did not use the pool or bar but both looked good. High recommended and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great stay at 5 Burnham! Highly recommended - great facilities, great food, friendly and helpful staff who are always available and give you the space you need. We were bumped up from the standard room to the executive suite as it wasn't busy and they made it spectacular for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SimTrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The B&B hosts, Sheila & Alan, are warm hospitable hosts and were so helpful in making my stay in Durban memorable (4 days). From the moment of the organized pickup by host Alan at the airport to my departure, everything was lovely. I immediately felt at home and at ease, which was crucial, as it was my first visit to S.A., as a solo female traveler. They also offered wonderful tips on where to eat, what to visit etc. Top notch and enjoyed every minute of my stay at Five Burnham Guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SusanTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Five Burnham is a beautifully decorated and well appointed guest house. The owners are very friendly and they accommodated our every need - even driving us to the airport at no extra cost! It is near the popular restaurants in Umhlanga and near Gateway. My boyfriend and I will definitely be returning on our next visit to the La Lucia/ Umhlanga area!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tatum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
14.4 mi away
LaLuxe B&B
LaLuxe B&B
#1 of 22 in La-Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
8.3 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 23 in Westville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mackaya Bella Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Sanchia Luxury Guesthouse
Sanchia Luxury Guesthouse
#22 of 250 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
9.1 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
15.4 mi away
Burnham House B&B
Burnham House B&B
#2 of 22 in La-Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Burnham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Burnham

Property: Five Burnham
Address: 5 Burnham Dr | La Lucia, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Burnham 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 4 star (SATGC) graded accommodation in Umhlanga. AA Travel Awards finalist for 2 years. 7 rooms en-suite. All rooms have air conditioning, fans, coffee/tea making facilities, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi, DStv. Tuscan style buffet and English breakfast is served. Sea views from the bar and barbeque/lounge area upstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Five Burnham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing