We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business”
Review of Suncoast Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suncoast Towers
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good for business”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights. Staff very friendly and helpful, room clean and comfortable. Great bed with lots of feather pillows and feather duvet. Sea view. Enough storage although might be tight if there were two of you staying. Generous space around the sink area. Lots of mirrors, but oddly, not one that you can see yourself in full length. Convenient shaver point with standard European connection, good for charging a toothbrush. No hairdryer supplied which is not a problem for me but would be a nice touch. Plenty of desk space and good wireless connection, although this was expensive, I thought. Tip: when you connect, use any website other than Google to bring up the alwayson login, for some reason I couldn't force this through Google. I used room service once for a beer and it was speedy, friendly, with no delivery charge.
Breakfasts are great, with lots of choice including lovely fresh fruit, pastries, cooked options and cereals, yoghurt, etc. Dinners were OK but more mixed, a limited choice and could be a bit slow. Might be better to walk through the link to the casino and food court.
I used the pool which I enjoyed; as it was quite a cold day by Durban standards I had it to myself. I imagine it could get crowded in better weather. There are no adequate changing facilities downstairs so you have to trail wet, and semi clothed through the restaurant area.
Only real complaint is that both the room, and particularly the restaurant area were quite cold. I couldn't heat my room at all and in the public spaces the aircon was too powerful for the prevailing external temperatures.
Be aware that although the hotel is right on the beach and very accessible during daylight, this is not an area where you can wander at night. It is situated close to an urban motorway and not within safe walking distance of shops or restaurants.
I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Durban.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank samliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your recent stay at Suncoast Hotel and Towers when you found our staff to be efficient and professional.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself and that you are already looking forward to your next visit.

We look forward welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    138
    60
    25
    21
See reviews for
90
150
28
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manipal
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have never seen a hotel that has deliberately screwed up the interiors to spoil, what I consider as a spectacular vista. The rooms are very small and the shower stall abuts the wall that has a small window overlooking the beach. If only the window was large enough and gave access to a balcony, every flaw in the hotel could have been excused. The breakfast is good and the staff are exteremely kind and helpful. But I didnot get value for the money that I paid for three nights. There are several excellent hotels in Durban and this is one place I wouldnt want to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for commenting on the staff being kind and helpful.
I would like to inform you that we have more spacious rooms available in the Towers section of the hotel - please visit our website and have a look at the options available to you. I would also like to invite you to the property and allow me to show you our different room types that we have available for future references.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Very nicely located hotel with awesome ocean view ,light soothing sea breeze coming to your room if you open the window slit.Rooms are very very small and the wash basin is part of your bedroom ,you wake up and just 2 feet away is your mirrors n wash basin.Rather even the toilet and the shower are part of the same room just that they have put a glass chambers to it . Breakfast is nice and i even got some Indian food at the breakfast buffet . Pool side is amazing .

Room Tip: if you are someone than your partner ,dont share the room they are very tiny.of course sea facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pakul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry your stay was less than perfect and that you found our Sunsquare rooms too small. May I ask you to please have a look at our Suncoast Towers rooms which is more spacious and keep it in mind for your next visit!
We are looking forward welcoming you back and I would be delighted to personally assist with the perfect room , so that your experience is fantastic.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Staying at Suncoast is always a memorable experience. Many an important personal occassion has been celebrated at this very conveniently located hotel. It caters for all our needs from the time we enter the foyer to our departure time.Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanip7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to provide us with great feedback. We are delighted that you had such a good stay with us. We take pride in offering the very best service and I am delighted you found the staff and service good from the moment of arrival until departure.

I do hope that it will not be too long before we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for another memorable visit and to celebrate another occasion.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Top notch place. Service, food, vey thing was wonderful. I really liked the beach. Breakfast was awesome as well. Only real issue I had was the taxi service they called for us. The service was never certified. Otherwise I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am delighted you enjoyed our facilities, food and good service offered by our team members.
Your issue regarding the taxi services has been discussed and rest assured that the problem has been rectified.
Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed for business for a couple days and overall all very good, with comfortable clean & modern rooms, good service and location. Possibly slightly over-priced, and the breakfast grill service could be better & quicker, but otherwise all very good and acceptable. We also held a function in their suite, and the overall servcie was very good, and all staff were helpful. The only real gripe is the rigmorale involved in obtaining free wi-fi access, as they want to charge R 90 for 2 hours - what is it with these hotls wnating to charge for a sevrice which should be free & essential?!!

Room Tip: Sign up to the guest program to get at least 2 hrs free per day re wi-fi access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments on the breakfast grill servicve and wi-fi access have been noted and we are working on improving the mentioned matters.

We take great pride in offering the very best possible service, I am delighted you found the staff and service good.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Kaliq Essop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Spent 5 nights here. Yes the room was a little small but I was on my own on business , the bed was certainly large enough. The sea view was great and the room was properly seviced each day. One thing that the room did have was a small fridge which came in very handy.
Due to early starts , I had breakfast delivered to my room at 5.30 am each morning , the food may have not been piping hot but it was of good quality and they were always on time.Staff were cheerful and overall services good. I look forward to staying here again sometime..

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room , its just great looking out on to the sunrise each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RENSHAWWELSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are most delighted that you found the staff friendly and helpful and the service good. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed the quality of the food and I would like to assure you that we have taken corrective measures to ensure that the food Is served at a better temperature.
Thank you again, we look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
439 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncoast Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Towers

Property: Suncoast Towers
Address: 20 Battery Beach Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durban
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#4 Business Hotel in Durban
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Suncoast Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pulse of Durban’s Golden Mile, the SunCoast Hotel and Towers offers everything a discerning traveller could need: beach views, a casino, excellent service and every modern convenience possible. Unwind on the private pool deck, get a facial at the spa or enjoy a private meal overlooking in the ocean in a luxurious room. This contemporary hotel is Durban’ s ideal getaway spot for all types of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Suncoast Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing