We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun Coast Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suncoast Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suncoast Towers
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
“Sun Coast Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My stay was short - therefore no comments.

















The hotel is ideally located for business meetings in Durban city centre. Booking in and out was very efficient. Staff were friendly. This is my preferred accommodation venue in Durban.





  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncoastManagement, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    126
    56
    22
    20
See reviews for
83
140
26
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights here whilst in Durban on business.
The staff were just amazing.
We felt so welcome and really enjoyed our stay.
The restaurant in the hotel is brilliant.
The first 2 nights we had spicy food. The third night we took steak and game fish. Simply superb.
Great job to all the staff.
We will absolutely visit again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank thirstytraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncoastManagement, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in offering the very best possible service and I am delighted that you found the staff and service so good.

We look forward welcoming you back to Suncoast Hotels.

Warm Regards,

Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackenfell, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was very fortunate to select the Suncoast Towers as my hotel of choice for the weekend of the Comrades Marathon.

When I arrived at the hotel Saturday at 1 I was greeted by very friendly front desk staff. I was allocated a spotless clean and freshly smelling room.

Due to the closeness to the Casino and Restaurant area it was possible to walk to the neighbouring fast food restaurants and have nice lunch.

The Front desk also offered to arrange transport to Pietermaritzburg for the start of the race the next morning at a nominal fee. I also completed a form stating the time of my wake-up call as well as special dietary requirements for the breakfast at 2 am AND a goody bag at no charge.

The morning I was treated to a wonderful breakfast at 2 and a goody bag containing 2 fruit, water, muffin and an energy bar ABOLUTE AWESOME!!! AT NO CHARGE

We were taken to the starting gate of Comrades by a friendly and experience driver.

On my return from a gruesome day I discovered I only booked 1 night. They allowed me an extra hour to quickly shower and change before I left. This extra time in the room was at NOOO charge.

Awesome staff and management. Will definitely be back next year for 2 nights :-)

Thanks a million!!!!!!

Mario

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncoastManagement, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback!

Staff are our biggest assets and we value your comments about them being so friendly.

I am glad that you enjoyed the offerings of the hotel and the casino complex and we look forward welcoming you back for a longer stay!

Kind Regards,

Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olandese
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Unfortunately I could stay just for one night.
The hotel is marvelous when you step inside.My first impression was.......I'm inpressed!
Very good and attentive staff.Calm and kind guidance through all the procedures.
My room may not have been the best,biggest ,whatever but it felt cosy to me.The space and colours were not "flashy" which I like,you have to come back in a calm area and be able to relax.The staff provided me an adapter for the powerplug,SAF to EU.free of charge if you return it before departure.Enjoyed a fantastic Indian buffet with a great rich variety which I haven't seen often like this in hotels around the world.Fantastic!
A nice bar before the entry of the restaurant is well equipped in any way.All sorts of drinks and a friendly bar-staff who can prepare a nice cocktail for you.
My breakfast I skipped but enjoyed a very good Italian Espresso outside on the terras ,watching the sun come up.Beautifull.There is a private beach exclusively for the hotel guests.
If I could I wouldn't mind to spend a holiday here...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buonviaggio66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncoastManagement, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review.

I am glad to know that you had a relaxing stay and that you experienced the staff to be attentive and friendly.

We surely do offer a great variety on our curry buffet and I am glad that you enjoyed it.

I look forward welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this property from the 8th May checking out the 13th May, the staff were friendly, the restaurant is of Indian orientation, meals over priced, the rooms are very small with very inferior finishes not worth the R2800.00 per night that we paid , rooms not cleaned very well and there was an obvious smell of dust, the area however is good if you wanted to dine outside the hotel there is great collection of fast food eateries.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing, it can make you forget your disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncoastManagement, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review and for the feedback.

We are commited to offering all our guests an experience that exceeds their expectations and were disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.

Please note that we also have the Suncoast Towers section where we offer a different room type, which might be more suitable to your needs and requirements.

Your comments regarding the housekeeping standard has been noted and action taken.

We do hope to welcome you back to Suncoast Hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Excellent hotel in a great position on North beach Durban, wonderful suites, attentive service, great Indian curry dinner. Suites are large with balconies and super size bathrooms. The boardwalk is a great plus for walking or jogging and the beach is broad with life guards on duty and cafes dotted around.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelworld702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncoastManagement, Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Travelworld702
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! We hope to see you back at Suncoast Hotels in the near future. Kind Regards,
Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location, the facilities, the beauty at night and day and the beach right in front - everything is going for Sun Coast.

I didnt sleep over at the hotel but repeatedly came to the many attractive restaurants, bars and eateries at the suncoast

I spent a full day at the beach right in front of the sun coast towers and it was awesome. with the cold sea breeze and many holiday makers all over the place, it just sucks you in.

Room Tip: Just let loose while there. You will regret it if you dont, especially if you travelled from anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank Victor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncoastManagement, Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear VictorO,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us!

We value your feedback immensely and are delighed that you enjoy Suncoast Complex!

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncoast Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Towers

Property: Suncoast Towers
Address: 20 Battery Beach Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durban
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#4 Business Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Suncoast Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pulse of Durban’s Golden Mile, the SunCoast Hotel and Towers offers everything a discerning traveller could need: beach views, a casino, excellent service and every modern convenience possible. Unwind on the private pool deck, get a facial at the spa or enjoy a private meal overlooking in the ocean in a luxurious room. This contemporary hotel is Durban’ s ideal getaway spot for all types of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Suncoast Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing