We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That extra mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maritimo's

Maritimo's
Ranked #34 of 596 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“That extra mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had quite a few meals here on a recent trip to Umhlanga. I wanted crayfish done in a way not on the menu and the chef really made a huge effort to prepare me a special meal, even sitting down with me to chat about the food. It's not often a restaurant will make such an effort. Spent many a long meal here after that. Thank you Maritimo's!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NFair79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    57
    22
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent place for dining out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We were 4 people for dinner, and really enjoyed the well prepared curry lamb, chicken and prawn, together with a nice wine, friendly atmosphere and good service. All came at an afordable price - thanks guys you will see us again

Helpful?
Thank 32003mvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great sea food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This quiet restaurant overlooking the Umhlanga beach served great food at fair prices not a place for a fast meal. But sit and enjoy the view while having a drink once you have ordered your meal.

Helpful?
Thank RsaRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best seafood with great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our waiter advised us that the local fisherman had just caught Tuna and that is what he recommended. Most of us had that and it was the best tasting fish we've ever had. Others in our group had steak which they enjoyed but I suggest going here for the fish. I also suggest lunch rather than dinner as you don't get to enjoy the amazing setting as much at dinner as lunch

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_zaJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

What a lovely dining experience. Top class service and food. Cocktails are a must. You wouldnt expect such good service for the affordable prices on the menu. The food was prepared fast and was delicious. Definitely the best experience we've had in Umhlanga on our holiday so far.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chantellevdbijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maritimo's also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Maritimo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing