We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
uShaka Manor Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teremok Marine(Umhlanga Rocks)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabana Beach Resort(Umhlanga Rocks)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coastlands Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Road Lodge Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
24
7
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
7
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsumhlanga rockspet friendly accommodationstayed herehome from homewithin walking distancea wonderful stayguesthouseupmarkethostsamenities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Before the niggles, I have to say the staff and owners cannot do enough for you and the service was very good. The bed was really comfy and the lodge is in a good location for shops and restaurants.

The Leopard room is smaller in the flesh than the picture suggests on the website, the next door room is much bigger (sorry cant remember the name) and hopefully it won't have a shower door that leaks. I reported ours on the first night but it never got sorted, and we had to barricade ourselves in with towels to save a massive mop-up procedure. The corridor is noisy, we had people slamming doors for 2 nights, a dog barking ALL NIGHT kept us awake, so previous reviewers were lucky.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Buffalo suite and my daughter was accommodated in the Rhino room. On arrival I was greeted by the owner and had numerous contact with her throughout my stay, which I find very important about a b&b/guest house. She recommended eating places and even gave us a complimentary voucher for drinks at the Butcher Boys in Umhlanga, where btw the food was once again outstanding.
The parking is a bit cramped on the premises, but I was assisted and was able to use the garage which was a pleasure to get in and out of.
Both the room and suite were outstanding! I cannot add much more than what the website say's....it was as advertised. I loved the huge bathroom which leads off the room, past a vast area with multiple cupboards. The jacussi bath was superb! The showerhead, in the shower, was like standing in the rain....for me the pressure was not enough but other might like this.
They are extremely helpful and any wish/request you have gets attended to if it is possible for them to do. I had requested an extra duvet which was placed in my room.
The suite is extremely spacious. The Rhino room in comparison is small but tastefully furnished. The room leads out into the garden with a patio table and chairs.
Both bathrooms were amply supplied with soap/shampoo/creams etc even earbuds!
The breakfasts were superb and very tasty. You have the self help area with cereals/fruit/cheeses/cold meats/yoghurts/breads etc and the hot food made to order. You place you order on the bar counter the night before.
They have a superbly stocked bar in the lounge area.
The only thing this guest house misses is a view of the ocean but the rock pool makes up for this.
The property has security around it's premises which is switched on at night to make you feel even more secure.
One of the previous posters mentioned noise.....throught my 3 night stay there...it was deathly quiet!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madame_XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

I stumbled on this place by asking at a local Thai restaurant for a B&B with high speed internet. The management was so nice that they called me back after i reserved the room from the restaurant to tell me they would keep the reception open for me. It is perfectly quite and the internet is extremely fast a major plus. Breakfast was perfect and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank permanent-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

I needed to be in Durban on business while a large conference was on. All my usual haunts were booked out so my contact in Durban found this place a little way out of town at Umhlanga.
It cost a bit more than I usually spend, but well worth it. Everything was superb. The place is totally done out with African handicrafts and each room is named after an animal. My colleague and i were in 'The den', a two bedroom apartment with kitchen/diner which cost about £120/night. Janita, who runs the place, made sure that everything ran smoothly, even to the extent that their dog Napoleon patrols the garden during breakfast to prevent monkeys sneaking in the open patio doors and helping themselves to the food!
The wireless internet was free - something I try to find wherever I travel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank john_on_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews