We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, good value, not quite 4 star”
Review of Gumtree Lodge

Gumtree Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gumtree Lodge
Ranked #37 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing, good value, not quite 4 star”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Very relaxing and laid back. Close to Umlanga Beach and Gateway Mall. Good value for money, decent breakfast. Staff are average. The lodge could do with a sping clean a refebishment as there are some very grubby corners. This is a good place to unwind, don't have 4 star expectations, adjust your expectation to 3 star.

Room Tip: Cottages arround the main house not next to the pool, seem to offer more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladymaridm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
6
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sale
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Recently we stayed at Gum Tree Lodge for a week..we found it a most pleasant place to stay and always felt safe...as security can be a problem in many parts of South Africa....our room was very spacious, with a huge bed and serviced daily...we found the staff to be most pleasant especially Peter the owner...he would have the be the kindest, most genuine person you could ever hope to meet...he went out of his way to ensure that we were looked after....Peter organises and personally takes guests on Safari's...the memories that we shared of the 4 days away with him we will cherish forever...we had the most incredible time and were captivated on so many occasions as we observed African wild life in it's natural splendour!!!...it's not every day that you have a herd of elephants crossing the road in safe distance from your van!!!..Gum Tree Lodge is situated in a quiet tree lined street...a 5 minute drive from the huge Gateway Shopping complex...if you so chose you can share an evening meal for a very reasonable cost in the evening....it is delicious home cooked food...and the company is good!!! otherwise there is an amazing organic restaurant called Marco Polos just a few minutes drive away..we can not recommend it enough the food is incredible!!! and also reasonably priced...we had a most enjoyable stay and will definitely return on our next visit...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2010

In today’s fast moving business world it is so good to be brought to a point where appreciation for the things that matter in life are realised and this relates to my numerous visits to KwaZulu Natal where I have adopted Gumtree Lodge as my home away from home.

The flight to Durban is swift and the stay normally for a few days. Upon arrival I am collected from the airport by the Owner and Manager of Gumtree Lodge, Peter and Jay. Upon arrival at the Guest House I am greeted as a family member by the staff, my bags taken to my room and am given an evening meal in a very relaxed atmosphere.

Gumtree Lodge is one of the few guest houses who provide dinner for guests at a very reasonable price and the lamb curry is incredible. A braai is held once a week where you can relax on the patio next to the swimming pool and enjoy the peace, tranquillity and hospitality that Gumtree Lodge offers.

The bedrooms are spacious and very neat and equipped with DSTV and Internet Access.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Very well situated for our business meetings.
Easy internet access which is imporatnt for business visitors.
Well secured area and quiet.
Charming and always welcoming staff.
Good personal contact and caring.
Spacious rooms, very tidy and neat.
Clean bathrooms with showers and bath.
Always feeling at home at Gumtree Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pops312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Arrival was great. Room was small but adequate and adjoining bathroom huge with shower and corner bath. However, no information in the room on wireless / internet connection, times for breakfast, tv, etc as you normally find. No tissues, no face cloths in the bathroom.

Breakfast on Friday - no staff in the dining room, plates had not been cleared from the table. A case of help yourself to what there was left over. No hot breakfast as no staff!

The manageress did put chairs out on the balcony with an ashtray (which was not emptied the entire time of our visit).

Check out on Saturday - waited a long time for someone to find the manageress who was, i was told, sleeping. How true this is I don't know. The kitchen staff were not friendly at all and all in all, not a lodge I would recommend if you are looking for 4 star service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calbAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Upon entering Gumtree Lodge, one gets the impression of a beautiful, serene and friendly atmosphere. However, once the door to your room is opened, you are sure to be sorely disappointed! With a shower in the middle of the room, with a full view for all to see (thank goodness I wasn't sharing with a friend!) and a cupboard that opens onto the bed so you cannot get passed it, as well as broken skirting tiles that no-one bothered to fix - the four star status of this "lodge" is far too high an accolade.

To add to our unpleasantries, the gutter just outside our door was blocked (or something of the sort) so that when we came home after a Durban thunderstorm, we had our own private little pool inside our room!

The rooms have no space to hang towels, only a laundry basket to throw them into, so heaven forbid you may want to shower twice in the sweltering Durban heat!

The kettle worked, occasionally with a faulty plug - highly annoying if you happen to be in a rush.

The manageress was friendly enough but most of the staff were unfriendly and didn't seem to understand plain english. For breakfast, I ordered an omellette with cheese, tomato and mushroom and my boyfriend ordered 2 eggs with bacon - not really rocket science to remember now is it? Well, I got an omelette with bacon and sausage a sprinkling of chees (no mushrooms or tomato in sight) and he got a table spoon of mushrooms and two slivers of bacon with half a tomato - hmmm... interesting isn't it? Thank goodness I wasn't a vegetarian!

Now for New Year's Eve: As a nice gesture, the B&B decided to throw a bash for the guests who had nothing better to do - supposed to run from 7:30 or 8 until 12:30. We got home around 01:00 and the party was still going - however, it was no longer a party with guests but rather a party the owners son decided to throw right outside the guest rooms. We decided they could have their fun for a few more minutes until the music got turned up full blast and they all started shouting at the top of their lungs - about 20m from our door (and we were the furthest room from the noise!)

After asking them to please keep it down because we were trying to sleep and were leaving early in the morning, we received some snotty comments. We decided to try get to sleep, with the volume slightly lowered. Ten minutes later, however, the same nonsense ensued and we were forced to ask them to please keep it down for the paying guests! Eventually, we managed to get to sleep just before 2am, but I think more from exhaustion than from the quiet.

In the interim of trying to get them to quiten down, we tried calling reception to get them to sort out the noise, but alas, no answer... quite typical really.

Anyway, needless to say, when we departed on the 1st of Jan, we were NOT sad to leave! Good luck if you choose to stay there - maybe you have better luck than we had!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candice_lyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Peter, the resident owner, treated us like family. stranded at the airport without a place to stay he offered to take us in. showed us the town. treated us with kindness and genuine concern for out time there. our contact did not show up at the airport, and it was the best thing that happened to us. the honor of meeting peter and him taking the time to take us around and provide us with a world class stay with a feeling of home away from home.

he set us up with another place for the first night cause he was full, but fed us that night and the next morning for breakfast! great times.
when you sit around the dinnertable together, it really feels like family.

also, great price!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DUDE037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Edgecombe Estate Lodge
Mount Edgecombe Estate Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mount Edgecombe
18 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Villa Valencia
Villa Valencia
#143 of 255 in Durban
21 reviews
5.8 mi away
Flintstones Guest House
Flintstones Guest House
#182 of 255 in Durban
10 reviews
11.2 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Westville
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Lodge

Property: Gumtree Lodge
Address: 13 Gumtree Crescent | Mount Edgecombe, Durban 4301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Gumtree Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing