We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Contemporary Colonial Comfort in Durban” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Ranked #1 of 252 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Deeping St. James
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Contemporary Colonial Comfort in Durban”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

If you are travelling to Durban then this is the place to stay.
A very pleasant Colonial Style 5 Star "Guest House" with excellent proprietors, Lionel and Leanne, and exceptional staff.
The accomodation and facilities are second to none, service is brilliant and all concerned will make your stay one to remember. (Have a good appetite for breakfast).
Accompanying photographs more than describe the style of the "Guest House".
Our heartfelt thanks to Lionel and Leanne.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColJenChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    66
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
128
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed in Goble Palms the first evening of our holiday in South Africa in October 2011. This is a gracious establishment with beautiful furnishings and parking provided on the premises. Both staff and the owner were extremely accomodating and friendly. The honesty bar was much appreciated allowing you the opportunity to help yourselves to drinks as and when, a nice touch. There are a number of good restaurants situated within the area. We enjoyed the breakfast provided the following morning whilst admiring the views of Durban from the verandah. Would recommend this to others and would certainly visit again if we have the opportunity.

Room Tip: We had the garden room, nice sized room with separate bath and shower and outside coutyard availalbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Goble Palms is a great place to stay, offering excellent and friendly service from the staff, great value, very good location and great comfort.

The rooms and lounge areas are beautifully furnished and the overall feel is that of charm and class.

I will be back and have highly recommended this lodge to my company for all our staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank challin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Unbelievable service. Lionel, Goodman, and their staff really know how to pamper their guests. Great experience. It's definitely my favorite place to stay in Durban.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ST2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

really enjoyed my stay here while attending a conference. service and accommodation top notch! thanks lionel for your advice and restaurant recommendations. Love the honesty bar!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Goble Palms' rooms are luxurious, very comfortable. We were greeted warmly on arrival and are check in was efficient, professional and friendly. In my opinion it is the best Guest House in Durban. It is conveniently located with superb views of the city of Durban and the sea. The breakfast is delicious! You have complimentary swiss chocolates in the evening in your room, you can have complimentary sherry at anytime. Goble Palms has a fully stocked bar, snacks also provided. Goble Palms has such a comfortable air about, the bedrooms are luxurious, the lounges very comfortable but yet you feel as comfortable and relaxed as you would in your own home. Can't wait to stay at Goble Palms again and I will be recommending it to all my friends. Lionel and Leanne really run their Guest House superbly and this is also reflected in the staff who are efficient, very friendly, honest, hardworking and very happy in their work, many of the staff have been at Goble Palms for several years.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bindi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I travel frequently on business - locally and internationally and can honestly say that Goble Palms is the best guest house that I have ever stayed at. I have a check list of: Comfort, convenience, privacy, amenities and safety. Goble Palms meets all of these with outstanding ratings. The guest house is beautifully appointed and the rooms are stunning with each individually decorated in an old charm that is both cozy and luxurious. I feel extremely comfortable conducting meetings in one of their many private lounges and offer my guests tea which is brought on a tray with silver teapot and sugar bowl and jug, fine bone china and home made biscuits. The owners - Lionel and Leanne and their staff have amazing attention to detail and make their guests feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are fabulous and cooked to perfection and these are enjoyed with the most wonderful sea view and special attention from Lionel, Vincent and staff.
An added bonus is safe off street on site parking, so your security is never compromised.
Their is also staff on duty 24 hours.
I entertain many clients and the buzz of Florida Road restaurants is conveniently close by, as is the new stadium. If you don't feel like going out, you can order takein and enjoy it around the pool and have a drink from the well stocked honesty bar.

The best part for me is that it feels like I am staying with old friends that make me feel so welcome. The cost of staying is half the price of any of the hotel groups prices and Goble Palms deserves the 5 star rating that they have!

Room Tip: Room 4 is amazing - four poster king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LornaBrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.5 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat

Property: Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Address: 120 Goble Rd | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 252 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming blend of tradition, elegance and style awaits in the gracious surroundings of Goble Palms, a beautiful Edwardian Lodge set high up on the ridge, overlooking the sea. Air-conditioned bedrooms are luxuriously decorated with comforts to pamper. Sumptuous breakfasts in the elegant dining room or on the patio at the pool. Close to city, ICC, golf,sports stadiums,beaches and restaurants. WiFi. Parking. TGCSA 5-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing