We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Ranked #1 of 258 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I am a regular guest at Goble Palms, my home away from home! I travel to Durban at least once a month on business and my last stay at Goble Palms was for 4 days. As per their usual standard it was excellent. The rooms are exactly aYs shown in the photos, the service is excellent. Lionel, Leeanne, Vincent and staff go out of their way to ensure you have every comfort needed for a stress free stay. Nothing is too much for them and they deserve the good reviews they get as they work very hard to achieve the high standards that they offer. The rooms are so comfortable with all amenities, feather pillows, good linen, super large bathroom with shower and tub. A lovely old English pub with an honesty bar that Lionel personally pours your drink and you can relax with other guests for a chat. The beuaty of it all it is so close to everything, a few minutes to Florida Road restaurants, a 5 minute drive to the beach and close to the freeway for a 20min drive to the airport. Oh, I didn't mention how beautifully decorated it all is too. Well done to Goble Palms.. you have it all!

Room Tip: Room 14 with the 4 poster bed... awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LornaBrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for a brief vacation over a long weekend in May. I thought it was a lovely and peaceful place, both elegant and comfortable… and very affordable! All the rooms are different; mine was at the back and was entered through a little courtyard. It had a tiny private "garden, " a soaking tub and a separate shower and a huge, cosy bed. There was coffee and tea makings, along with homemade biscuits (cookies) and a tiny flask of what tasted like Bailey's Irish Creme. Big towels and in additional to regular toiletries, a bottle of "bath soak."

The place is on multiple levels. There is a crystal-clear swimming pool and barbecue station on the first level, along with a well-stocked "honesty bar" that was set up like an English Pub. Several lounges and a big wrap-around porch were on the second level. Lots of places to sit and relax. The included breakfast was substantial - fresh baked goods, fruit, yogurt, cereal and a cooked breakfast made to order. Free WiFi in the common areas and the hosts and staff were very accommodating. After I got back from my excursion on Sunday, I was served a lovely afternoon tea - even though I had officially "checked out." I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavvyFaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Goble Palms is a delightful guest lodge, elegantly furnished and with spacious and well-appointed rooms. The staff are all wonderfully friendly and helpful, and are only too happy to ensure that guests' needs are met. The accommodation is a series of houses, imaginatively linked by sets of steps, with lush planting throughout. The eating area is also accessed by steps, and breakfasts were well-cooked and nicely presented. We stayed for 9 days in April this year and would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: The steps may be a challenge for less mobile visitors, but there is a choice of rooms on lower level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltwo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Goble Palms Guest Lodge when we visited Durban for a wedding. The room was much more than I expected, it was spacious, romantic and beautifully decorated.

My husband and I were travelling with our 2 year old and the staff were so accommodating and wonderful with our little one. They had a cot in our room with baby blankets.

The breakfast was lovely and the view is just amazing!

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominiqueKapery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had a very enjoyable 3 night stay here in Feb 14. Much liked the numerous, internal & external seating areas and the very well furnished accommodation. As mentioned by others, it was a nice touch to have those complimentary little extras such as the Baileys and sherry. Must also agree about the staff who were very welcoming and always looking to help whenever necessary, Vincent is a star.

Excellent breakfasts. Rooms at the back of the house are quieter. Local restaurants were varied and easily accessible (recommend Spice on Florida).

Overall good value for money and would revisit when back in Durban.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Goble Palms is quite an amazing hotel, made up of various colonial style houses in which the guest rooms are situated. The rooms are very well furnished but in keeping with the style of the place. An honesty bar runs 24/7 and breakfast is served on the veranda or inside overlooking the small pool (buffet and cooked available). There are various sitting areas both outside and comfy sofas inside. Tea & coffee (plus a biscuit jar) are in the room and a wee tipple of Baileys or a sherry! TV channels are limited. Short walking distance to a variety of restaurants but if you are not comfortable in walking at night then you can arrange for meals to be collected by the staff and brought to your room. At R775 per night for overseas guests this place is amazing value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diddicoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay at this guest house. Our room was massive and very individual. We loved the little touches like the baileys by the bed. We would happily stay here again particularly as the staff were so friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbelle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,528 reviews
1.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
6.7 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Westville
255 reviews
2.2 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat

Address: 120 Goble Rd | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £55 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming blend of tradition, elegance and style awaits in the gracious surroundings of Goble Palms, a beautiful Edwardian Lodge set high up on the ridge, overlooking the sea. Air-conditioned bedrooms are luxuriously decorated with comforts to pamper. Sumptuous breakfasts in the elegant dining room or on the patio at the pool. Close to city, ICC, golf,sports stadiums,beaches and restaurants. WiFi. Parking. TGCSA 5-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing