We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice clean place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We felt Gibela was excellent.
Service: The hosts were helpful and offered suggestions for tours, etc.
Location: Near a nice restaurant strip, grocery stores, malls. In possibly the safest part of Durban.
Accomodations: Room was nothing fancy, but certainly adequate. Lots of common areas. Washrooms were clean.
Overall we had a really good stay at Gibela.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibela, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Hello Adam
Many thanx for your positive feedback.
We are fortunate with our location and that everything is in easy walking distance.
Any idea or suggestion in how we could make the rooms more "value for money", would be highly appreciated.
Travellers are the best source for ideas and suggestions. Through trial and error we offer what works best for us, but its you the travellers, with the experience that picks up on the smaller things. Hopefully we can add abit more before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was the second time I stayed at Gibela over Comrades Weekend. It was busy, and I met up with some old friends and had an awesome time. Elmar even took the time to obtain some souvenirs the day of many departures which was a nice touch. It's hanging in my garden! I have read the previous comments and they are a little harsh. As an overseas visitor, I expect wifi and most would have their own device so maybe a change in the pricing structure, to reflect this fact could be a way of improvement. Nevertheless, it is clean with good breakfasts and an extremely good base for Durban.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Gibela is described in the Lonely Planet as being "boutique" which is certainly the case - very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Private safes in the dorm rooms were a great addition too. The breakfasts were lovely, and the staff were very helpful. On arrival I was given a map and orientated to the area - I was also given handy tips on where not to go!

My issue with the place was it closed at 2030. The owner took all the cushions from the outdoor area inside and locked up the reception. This took the computer and the bar area out of action. The wifi at the place is very expensive and runs out very quickly so when he shut up shop I wasn't able to get online (I use my evenings to research areas and book future destinations). It also meant a walk, in the dark, to the store for a cold drink. These are minor inconveniences but in comparison to other places, at R200 a night, it was twice the price with a fraction of the service and amenities. Despite being a BazBus pick up point it doesn't open in the morning until after the BazBus has left which leaves you sitting on the steps waiting for the bus - not great.

The place is run around the owner's life - closing in time for him to have a pleasant evening and opening late enough for him to go to the gym in the morning. There should be more emphasis on service particularly in comparison to other, cheaper, options throughout South Africa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Hello Daniel
Many thanx for the kind words and the appreciation of our attention to detail in the furbishing of Gibela (not many travellers take the time to acknowledge our input/effort). Our top selling points is our spotless facilities, great showers (allways hot water) and our breakfast, which is of course is build into the price (this in a cafe would most probably cost you R 50).
We try to make each traveller to Durbans visit unique by giving them the extra few tips where to go what to see and what to avoid. It's good to hear that your check-in/arrival was to your satisfaction (I was actually away at the weekend you stayed and its good to see that the staff keeps the Gibela flag high).
Our reception hours (07H15 till 20H30) are actually set to the needs of our guests. 90% of our guests are out and about by 19H30 exploring what Durban has to offer on the night scene, either eating out at the fine restaurants within 5 min walk or going to live music and on weekends sport events. This we encourage 100% so that travellers can actually get out and meet the Durbanites. AND due to their great evenings out a lie-in is always welcome.
As for taking the cushions away - if it wasn't for the neighbours cats that discovered them and destroyed two they would be out 24/24. Were not really a bary type of establishment. we offer beers and wine for a relaxing social chat rather than offer a party on site.
Wi-Fi is available 24 hours (which you seem to have had) but yes when we lock up reception our guest computer also is locked up. Wi Fi is sold by bandwith and not time - so it depends what sites you visit as to how much on-line time you will have. Our cheapest package which is R20 usually last 45 - 60 min if one only does e-mail (which most of guests usually do).
It sounds like the street lights were out the weekend you stayed, as I was not there I cant comment on this but apologise on behalf of Durban Municipality. Normlly our neighbourhood is well lit up - to the extent that females feel safe to walk to the restaurants all on their own.
As far as the price of bednights are concerned - at the end of the day it's all by choice. As you were using the Lonely Planet you could have seen our rates are higher than other backpackers in Durban. BUT you decided to buy into the Gibela Experience. Just to explain the private safes in the dorms come at an expense, we dont serve chicory coffee but 100% pure instant coffee, what you had at breakfast wasn't margarine but pure butter. The spotless clean facilities, endless hot water, well stocked self actering kitchen with free spices, tea coffee all come at a cost and that is what the Gibela Guest buy when they stay with us. It's about the experience rather than the amenities.
Baz Bus travellers makes up about 5% of our clientele, as I stated earlier we are not a party hostel. I see no logic why someone from management must be putting travellers on their way if all they have to do is get on public transport.
We as owners or managers also have a life believe it or not. I don't think I do a shabby job being at reception from 07H15 till 20H30 7 days a week. This is the time that majority of our guests are either checking in or out or need assistance with planning their travels for which we are always to happy to assist.
A price tag is what one buys into - and is always a matter of choice..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

It is the second time I have stayed at Gibela. Elmer was warm, friendly and accommodating. It is well situated from FLorida Road with all the restaurants as well as not too far from the beach front (although not walking distance) but transport very easy to organise. Gibela is not the conventional backpackers - very clever move - party up the road but come back and sleep in a calm peaceful room!! Rooms are simple but spotless and very safe! Love the decor, love the breakfasts and would definitely recommend it to other travellers. Go Elmer!! Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Owner was unpleasant to be around, and seemed to have difficulty not being rude, so much so we went to stay somewhere else. If you are sensitive to being around OCD types, avoid this place as its a major bummer.

The maids who work for him, however, do a stellar job. One can guess why.

Breakfasts were nice and the place is clean and good location though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hammer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Enjoyed my stay at Gibela. Owner very informative.
The breakfast was very good. I had a car and the secure parking was a bonus.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatSE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I've stayed here a couple times; proves a good location as just off the main road, yet walking distance to Florida Road (party central) and also Market (an upmarket restaurant). Limited but usually adequate parking space and a simple breakfast is available. The dorm rooms, bathrooms and kitchen are all well attended to and very clean.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stormchild83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibela, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Many thanks for the kind words and pleased to see that you keep coming back. Hope you enjoyed your meal at Market Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 45 in Durban
41 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#35 of 45 in Durban
106 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 45 in Durban
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#21 of 45 in Durban
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 45 in Durban
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibela Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Address: 119 Ninth Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range: £32 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gibela Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP CHOICE - Lonely Planet 2012 "If this hostel (a tastefully converted 1950's Tuscan home) were a B&B, it would be described as 'boutique'. One of Durban's best hostels, it has sparkling surfaces and rooms neat enough to pass an army major's inspection. It even provides a continental breakfast- to be enjoyed in an attractive indoor-outdoor dining area." Gibela is conveniently located in the safe, residential area of Morningside and within walking distance to the center of Durban’s entertainment life, Florida Road, where there are restaurants, cocktail bars, clubs and coffee shops galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Gibela Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing