We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Beautiful courtyard and pool area to hang around, nice rooms, clean amenities, great and helpful host. Try out Jooo's Steakhouse across the street!
Location is excellent 2min to supermarket, restaurant, laundry, bar. 15min by foot to the stadium, 20 to the beach!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chantal1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello Chantal
It seems you walked Durban flat - AMAZING. You even know the times by foot to all the points of attractions better than me (you 2 must be fast walkers or I'm just conservative) Our location is great and comfortable walking distance to everything that s on the to do list (or the bus is only 5 min walk away for the not so fit) The steakhouse across the road is Joop's Place - a true winner. Not so sure if it was you that had to sit at the make shift table - BUT yes they do look after the Gibela Guests.
Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed at Gibela for a few nights in June, and it was really quiet with only me there for some of the time. But it was a quiet period, and the few others who stayed were great! The staff was super friendly and helpful, and the house, rooms and bathrooms were perfectly clean. The beds in the dorms are comfortable and you have your own safe in the room. The garden and pool is beautiful!

It's a short walk to Florida road with great restaurants, and there's a big supermarket where they have everything you need, and a laundromat (drop&go laundry) on the corner. The area is safe to walk in.

I injured my knee when I was there so unfortunately I didn't get to explore much of the area or Durban. The owner and the other 3 who worked there went on to do what they could to help me out, from recommending a hospital to ordering pizza for dinner so I didn't have to go out. The owner even helped me out after I got home with some hospital-related issues. So a big thanks to all of you!

I would recommend Gibela to anyone going to Durban! And hopefully I will be back myself!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnexpectedDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello Mona
Many thanx for taking the time to write your review on Gibela.
It was unfortunate that you had to cut your visit to SA short and we do hope to see you back again. We do strive to meet our guests satisfaction on all levels - even with after stay customer care. We were fortunate to have you as a guest for an extended period which gave you the opportunity the explore and experience Gibela during busy and quiet times.
Wishing you a speedy recovery and many more happy miles of travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here for a few days after spending a few days at a hotel near the beach. The area is calmer, which was appreciated. The hostel itself has very nice grounds, so it's a pleasant place to hang out. This is one of the cleanest hostels I have ever seen. I was in a double room, and it was a decent size with some space to hang up clothes and store luggage. I was surprised that it was serviced every day (beds made, etc.), which I am not used to seeing at hostels. The breakfasts were nice - lots of fresh fruit. The owner was also very helpful, and knows a lot about the city. He is definitely a 'suffer no fools' kinda guy, but he was nothing but polite and helpful towards me and my partner. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanx for taking the time to write your review.
It is very rewarding for the Gibela Team when guest appreciate what we put into the establishment. Time and time again it is proven that those who take the time to too explore and experience not just Gibela Lodge but also Durban in general are blown away on what is on offer. One such "extra" we offer is servicing the room daily as well as replacing towels every second day. These are the "luxuries" the one night wonders just don't seem to comprehend as they don't experience it.
Also sharing our endless knowledge on Durban is only appreciated if guest actually spend enough time in the city to get to know the hidden treasures we expose them to - but yes as you mentioned this is wasted on a 3 hour visit to Durban.
I guarantee you our service one year later is as you experienced it.
Happy travels !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Overall a very good experience; Cyril as well as the owner took great care of us and were always willing to give recommendations or call a cab to get us around Durban. The rooms were very nice and clean, breakfasts were good and the grounds were very quaint. Lots of space to chill as well as meet fellow lodgers. And having safes in the room made us feel very secure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Great to hear that you found both the staff and management top notch - thank-you !!
Also rewarding to hear that our facilities, cleanliness and spacious surroundings get your approval.
Home to welcome you back @ Gibela again.
Thx
Elmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I returned here after a fortnight travelling around South Africa, and it was great to come back. The rooms are immaculate and the cleaning staff are all lovely. The owner was helpful and the beds comfortable. There's also a small kitchen/utensils to use. Thanks for a relaxing couple of days!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ennque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Always great to have returning clientele and they experience the consistent standards. Many thanx for giving us the thumbs up !!
Happy travels !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great hostel, especially by South African standards. Comparable to top hostels in Europe. It's clear that the owner has thought of the little things and works to continuously improve things. Hostel is very clean with little rules written everywhere (as mentioned in other reviews), which I thought was a good thing because it helps keep things clean and well maintained.

Really nice lounge area outside with small wading pool. Breakfast was excellent (cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, coffee). Social atmosphere was a bit dead while I was there, but it was off-season. No locks on doors but safes are provided so it's not an issue. Bottom bunks are a bit claustrophobic (you can’t sit up in your bed), but lots of little lounge areas (indoor and outdoor) for sitting around mean you don't really need to sit on your bed much. Multiple bathrooms meant you never had to wait, and they were kept very clean. Location is a bit far from the beach and CBD, but being near Florida Rd is great for nightlife and a Superspar is just down the street.

Owner seemed a bit gruff at first, but was actually very nice and helpful. Make use of the map showing what areas are safe. I was hesitant to use public transit and walk around myself (being new to South Africa), but the clear instructions from the owner gave me confidence in doing so.

Wifi was free and worked 24 hrs in lounge area, but annoying, with codes for 100 MB of usage that seemed to run out before you actually used 100 MB (per my data tracker). More codes were provided.

Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank PolarBear777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We appreciate the to the point review on Gibela. I don't think I could have said it more professionally. By the write-up you gave us it seems you spent a few days at Gibela and had the time to get the feel of the " Gibela Experience". Our little notes ensure that all guests have an equal experience and it works for most. Wi-Fi is hassle free for most phones but depending on settings individual devices don't always easily connect to internet in South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Gibela offers all the amenities the flashpacker could wish for. The owner/manager may look a little grumpy, but he is actually very helpful and attentive.
The rates are above the average backpackers' going rate in Durban, but my stay was definitely worth it.
Excellent continental breakfast included.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Grumpy - that's a first, hope its not my new look since I started wearing spectacles, or maybe it's not even me. Other than this you seem to have enjoyed your "flash-packer" experience at Gibela. Reading your reviews about your visits to the city it seem you give Durban a thumbs up !! Thank-you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#35 of 44 in Durban
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#23 of 44 in Durban
41 reviews
1.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#21 of 44 in Durban
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,561 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 44 in Durban
261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#3 of 85 in Durban
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibela Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Address: 119 Ninth Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range: £31 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gibela Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP CHOICE - Lonely Planet 2012 "If this hostel (a tastefully converted 1950's Tuscan home) were a B&B, it would be described as 'boutique'. One of Durban's best hostels, it has sparkling surfaces and rooms neat enough to pass an army major's inspection. It even provides a continental breakfast- to be enjoyed in an attractive indoor-outdoor dining area." Gibela is conveniently located in the safe, residential area of Morningside and within walking distance to the center of Durban’s entertainment life, Florida Road, where there are restaurants, cocktail bars, clubs and coffee shops galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Gibela Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing