We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hostels ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best hostels ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

We've hosteled our way around for a few years now and Gibela was a welcome stay for us with excellent cleanliness, organisation, comfort and the helpfullness of the staff. I'd definitely recommend this hostel to anyone wanting a stay in Durban. It's in a great location and it's a great price.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franco25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    57
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
41
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Gibela was a wonderful back packers to stay in, my favourite in the whole of Kwa-Zulu Natal. The beds were ridiculously comfy and the staff were really friendly and let me know where the best places to go and the ways to get there. The rooms and bathrooms were really clean. There was nothing about Gibela backpackers that i found dissatisfying and would recommend it to people of all ages.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evilspiderfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Everything you need - clean, quiet, comfortable for a reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Gibela is a clean, beautiful with tons of atmosphere close to the ABSA stadium (and soon to be finished new Moses Mabhida Stadium). We felt at home from the minute we walk through the gate, it has a great backpacker feel with all the trimmings of a modern lodge. The staff are very friendly and with an “chilled” attitude that puts you in the holiday mood. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and always made up when we got back after a night out. I felt we got value for money and will certainly go back when visiting Durban again.. Good work

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CyberKallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biberach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Good recommendation. Clean and comfortably. near to the city. Safe and nice.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richterherter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

I made a reservation for double room -
According to the webpage says
"Upstairs Bedroom 7 & 8
2 bathrooms with a shower, basin and toilet in each "

Thats is not true at all since the bathrom was shared for the whole storey. I spoke to the manager by phone and he didn't accept what the webpage says that. In my opinion in bad manners.

Apart from that, the staff is very helpful, especially Ciry who helped us and gave us a lot of tips of Durban.

Downstairs is somewhat noisy , since every night a group of 10 young people emptied the supermarket that was closeby to get hammered there.

The cleaningless is acceptable and relatively close to Florida rd with good restaurants

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carletes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibela, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 13 May 2009
In our 6 years of existence we have never had en-suite rooms. I'm not clear on where or which site the guest saw that we offer en-suite rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrollton, texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2007

I stayed at this place for 3 nights. The host is extremely helpful, and always available to assist.
Location was excellent, well secured, good safe parking, close to main highways, close to Florida St for restaurants. A Spar grocery store is also nearby. The beach was a 5-7 minute drive.

The atmosphere in the location was relaxed.... people were nice and friendly, a lot of opportunities to socialize, but also space to do your own thing. The accommodations were adequate, also very clean. Breakfast was also good. I would strongly recommend this hostel, and if I came back to Durban, I would certainly consider staying here again

  • Liked — location, friendliness, courtesy
  • Disliked — can't define anything I did not like
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank odnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#33 of 41 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibela Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Property: Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Address: 119 Ninth Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gibela Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP CHOICE - Lonely Planet 2012 "If this hostel (a tastefully converted 1950's Tuscan home) were a B&B, it would be described as 'boutique'. One of Durban's best hostels, it has sparkling surfaces and rooms neat enough to pass an army major's inspection. It even provides a continental breakfast- to be enjoyed in an attractive indoor-outdoor dining area." Gibela is conveniently located in the safe, residential area of Morningside and within walking distance to the center of Durban’s entertainment life, Florida Road, where there are restaurants, cocktail bars, clubs and coffee shops galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Gibela Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing