We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days feeling at home”
Review of Smith's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smith's Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Im from argentina and i stayed in smith's cottage for three nights and i can assure that is one of the best places i ever stayed. it's an amazing place and the best thing is that the couple who run the place are extremely lovely and caring. they help me with everything, from tourism advice, even they took me to the mozambican embassy and help me with the visa thing.
It's at 10 min of the city center so it's not that bad, and to take the african taxi its an amazing experience.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
Thank Andres M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

I've stayed at almost all the backpackers and B&Bs in durban and can safely say I've found the rose amongst the thorns. Genuine good people running it with passion. Great value and suitable for singles, families locals and overseas visitors. Who thought 2 liverpoolians could make somewhere so SA proud and a shining example of what durban is about!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbntjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed at Smith's Cottage for 1 night and the facilities are great. A friend and I booked a dorm room but ended up being the only ones in it so we had a room to ourselves. The facilities were clean and the owners are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They can provide a shuttle (for a cost) if your flight comes in at a time that the airport shuttle isn't running which was very help for us. The only thing is the hostel is a little out of the way for the main part of town so if you don't have a car you have to rely on the owners to drive you in and out of town (for a cost). If this hostel was a little more centrally located it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asugrad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Spent four nights in Smiths cottage, and had a great time, The rooms are Great, the Owners Pat & Keith went out of there way to make my stay a great one. The place is close to The Stadium, Beach And Stargate Casino, as well as only 15 minutes away from Umhlanga Rocks. Been travelling South Africa for 6 weeks and this has been the nicest place I've stayed so far. Pat & Keith make you feel at home as soon as you get there and the quality of the place is far better than your average backpackers, which is surprising based on their low prices! Ideal base for your trip to Durban. Highly Recommend!

Room Tip: Get one of the cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed total 4 nights.This was the best place we had during 3 weeks backpacking-trip through south africa! We felt like home. A family atmosphere.The owners are very friendly, helpful and give always good tips for everything you want to do.
Thanks Pat & Keith for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caschbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Not in a very good location if you don't have your own transport.
The dorm was a little strange, built in a old garage with the dining table right in the middle and the kitchen to one side... When I got there the whole dorm smelled of food. Toilet on one side, shower on the other but no sink. If you want to wash your face or your teeth you have to use the sink in the kitchen.
The owners were very nice and helpful, even took me to the gas station to use the ATM so I could pay them.
A little weird to be having coffee in the morning in the main house with their children there having breakfast...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amixtika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at Smith's Cottage for 8 days, initially we planned to stay 4 days, just to take care of our van (which was shipped over from Belgium). Because there were problems in the port, we had to stay longer. But apart from the problems with our van, it wasn't so hard. The owners, Keith and Pat, helped us out where they could. Keith drove us around Durban to get new tools, a fridge, take care of other important stuff; while Pat defended us like a lioness by every person she know.
The place is great, the dorm is really clean and the swimming pool is great for an early fresh start or an evening dip. The owners have great advice about Durban city and they took us on a beachtrip and did a little sight-seeing tour. We arrived as strangers, but left as friends. Great place and lovely people!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Couscouscurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,481 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#11 of 43 in Durban
234 reviews
3.6 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#3 of 80 in Durban
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
14.8 mi away
Valley Lodge
Valley Lodge
#6 of 256 in Durban
115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smith's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smith's Cottage

Address: 5 Mount Argus Road | Umgeni Heights, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range: £23 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiths cottage is owned an run by pat & Keith.Situated above the Umgeni Bird Park and only 5-10 mins away from beaches and all major attractions.Comfortable ,clean, and homely and highly praised by Lonely Planet and proud holder of Trip adviser Certificate of Exellence for 2014. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smith`s Cottage Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing