We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smith's Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
95
7
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
7
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth africaexceptional hostsplace to stayhome away from homevisit durbanswimming poolenjoyed our staykeithcabinbackpackershostelsadormbraaidrakensbergensuitetoilet
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Im from argentina and i stayed in smith's cottage for three nights and i can assure that is one of the best places i ever stayed. it's an amazing place and the best thing is that the couple who run the place are extremely lovely and caring. they help me with everything, from tourism advice, even they took me to the mozambican embassy and help me with the visa thing.
It's at 10 min of the city center so it's not that bad, and to take the african taxi its an amazing experience.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
Thank Andres M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I've stayed at almost all the backpackers and B&Bs in durban and can safely say I've found the rose amongst the thorns. Genuine good people running it with passion. Great value and suitable for singles, families locals and overseas visitors. Who thought 2 liverpoolians could make somewhere so SA proud and a shining example of what durban is about!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbntjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed at Smith's Cottage for 1 night and the facilities are great. A friend and I booked a dorm room but ended up being the only ones in it so we had a room to ourselves. The facilities were clean and the owners are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They can provide a shuttle (for a cost) if your flight comes in at a time that the airport shuttle isn't running which was very help for us. The only thing is the hostel is a little out of the way for the main part of town so if you don't have a car you have to rely on the owners to drive you in and out of town (for a cost). If this hostel was a little more centrally located it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asugrad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Spent four nights in Smiths cottage, and had a great time, The rooms are Great, the Owners Pat & Keith went out of there way to make my stay a great one. The place is close to The Stadium, Beach And Stargate Casino, as well as only 15 minutes away from Umhlanga Rocks. Been travelling South Africa for 6 weeks and this has been the nicest place I've stayed so far. Pat & Keith make you feel at home as soon as you get there and the quality of the place is far better than your average backpackers, which is surprising based on their low prices! Ideal base for your trip to Durban. Highly Recommend!

Room Tip: Get one of the cottages!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed total 4 nights.This was the best place we had during 3 weeks backpacking-trip through south africa! We felt like home. A family atmosphere.The owners are very friendly, helpful and give always good tips for everything you want to do.
Thanks Pat & Keith for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caschbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews