We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smith's Cottage never disappoints”
Review of Smith's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smith's Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This was my third stay at Smith's. Have never stayed anywhere else in Durban. At a very reasonable price with a variety of accomodations ranging from backpacker dorm to individual en-suite rooms. The location is perfect, just 10 minutes to the shops, restaurants and nightlife of Florida Road and not far from Umhlanga if you are a mall rat. Upmarket neighborhood with a neighborhood watch guard directly across, so no problems with security or parking cars in front. Extremely clean and well-cared for, in fact there are certificates from an international hostel organization confirming that Smith's maintains the highest standards for cleanliness. No dust, no bugs, etc which is extremely important to me. Appreciated the first 30 minutes free with internet as I did not have my laptop there. Very nice pool and garden, perfect for sitting, reading, chilling, having a beer... Pat and Keith are so friendly and accomodating giving all sorts of tips - this time I asked about beaches and Keith told me to go to the casino where there is secure parking and a wonderful beach with lifeguards (who I can give my car keys to). It was perfect and stress-free as previously I always had my things on the beach and could not enjoy an extensive swim. Will be back again next year. Durban is a wonderful place for a break and Smith's Cottage has always fit the bill.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Smith's Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

Our stay at Smith's started out on a bad note, the room they had promised when I booked 2 months ago did not exist we had a choice of either a double bed or en-suite not both like we thought we were getting. The hosts were quite rude at times ans seemed to excuse it by saying they were fully booked, it made us feel like we were an inconvinience rather than guests. The location in North Durban seemed like a clean and safe neighbourhood, so we felt good about that, but it was very far away from everything, it would have been great with a car. We had to use their shuttle service everywhere we wanted to go, as this backpackers is in a residential area, which after 3 days ended up being about R400 with conservative use. They also didn't seem to appreciate picking us up after about 8pm and used the shuttle to "help" us decide what not to do. The rooms were clean and the back courtyard was nice and the hosts seemed to work things out so that we left reasonably happy.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharolinLesotho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith s, Owner at Smith's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for writing to trip advisor we value your comments,we did promise you a en suite cabin but in all fairness we upgraded you to a family room for less money ( we had a group of 22 for 6 o'clock breakfast they were quite but close to your allocated room) where we believe you had a better nights sleep after your epic journey from Lesotho where you were for 7 months with peace corp, you said you were sick.We did pick you up on time but you wanted to go shopping in another part of the city, you were taken & picked up,the next day you were taken to Gateway shopping for clothes for your cruise to Mozambique it was a 20 minutes drive,& picked up after 10pm because you wanted to to see the movies.The next day you went into the city & picked up late, on your day of leaving you had breakfast then taken to the ship all of this at the drop of a hat for your convenience & very cheap,as stated we did have 22 people for evening & breakfast meals where we had to work long hours but we did accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had a very warm welcome at Smith Cottage. Pat and Keith are an inexhaustible source of information not only on Durban but whole South Africa and very helpful in any situation. Keith can resolve any problem, just ask. They propose lots of facilities like laundry, internet, pool and braai as well as taxi to different locations in the surroundings.
Thank you again, Pat and Keith, for your kind support to our travel project, your help to get us "on the road" again and the real family atmosphere. The small and big members of mapamayo had an unforgettable time at Smith Cottage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Im from argentina and i stayed in smith's cottage for three nights and i can assure that is one of the best places i ever stayed. it's an amazing place and the best thing is that the couple who run the place are extremely lovely and caring. they help me with everything, from tourism advice, even they took me to the mozambican embassy and help me with the visa thing.
It's at 10 min of the city center so it's not that bad, and to take the african taxi its an amazing experience.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
Thank Andres M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I've stayed at almost all the backpackers and B&Bs in durban and can safely say I've found the rose amongst the thorns. Genuine good people running it with passion. Great value and suitable for singles, families locals and overseas visitors. Who thought 2 liverpoolians could make somewhere so SA proud and a shining example of what durban is about!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbntjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed at Smith's Cottage for 1 night and the facilities are great. A friend and I booked a dorm room but ended up being the only ones in it so we had a room to ourselves. The facilities were clean and the owners are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They can provide a shuttle (for a cost) if your flight comes in at a time that the airport shuttle isn't running which was very help for us. The only thing is the hostel is a little out of the way for the main part of town so if you don't have a car you have to rely on the owners to drive you in and out of town (for a cost). If this hostel was a little more centrally located it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asugrad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Spent four nights in Smiths cottage, and had a great time, The rooms are Great, the Owners Pat & Keith went out of there way to make my stay a great one. The place is close to The Stadium, Beach And Stargate Casino, as well as only 15 minutes away from Umhlanga Rocks. Been travelling South Africa for 6 weeks and this has been the nicest place I've stayed so far. Pat & Keith make you feel at home as soon as you get there and the quality of the place is far better than your average backpackers, which is surprising based on their low prices! Ideal base for your trip to Durban. Highly Recommend!

Room Tip: Get one of the cottages!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,468 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
229 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
3.0 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
3.6 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#3 of 80 in Durban
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smith's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smith's Cottage

Address: 5 Mount Argus Road | Umgeni Heights, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range: £24 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiths cottage is owned an run by pat & Keith.Situated above the Umgeni Bird Park and only 5-10 mins away from beaches and all major attractions.Comfortable ,clean, and homely and highly praised by Lonely Planet and proud holder of Trip adviser Certificate of Exellence for 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Smith's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smith`s Cottage Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing