We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a let down”

Cargo Hold Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 598 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Having a very rare cold day in Durban we decided to go and have lunch at Cargo Hold , the menu seemed limited and we eventually decided to skip starters and just go for main , i ordered a lamb shank with minted mash , we seem to wait quite long and eventually our food arrived only to be cold day, i send it back only to have cold mash again , i just ended up calling for our bill and rather leave highly disappointed and paying quite a bit for a bad meal

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    133
    68
    23
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Sitting in the hull of a replica boat with tables right next to an aquarium full of sharks and other interesting fish.

The irony of eating seafood while looking at fish wasn't lost on me but it did not detract from an excellent meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Spectacular Food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband & I dined at this gem stone of a location early June 2014. From spectacular food & brilliant service to an ambiance like no other, we were pleased with our choice. We both order the Duck which was absolutely stunning. Well balanced flavours and accompanied by a bottle of Pinot Noir. Compliments to the staff & management. Very professional & knowledgeable with products and they really know how to make one feel warm & welcome. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annemilton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A taste of the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited The Cargo hold restaurant on 24 December 2013 as Christmas was fully booked. The restaurant looks great from outside as it is an abandoned ship. The experience was unforgettable. The fish tank and abandoned ship was the main attraction for me. Kitana loved watching the different types of fish. We spent most of our time by the tank.

I didn’t have a starter because nothing really stood out for me and with a toddler on the run I decided to move straight to main course.

Starters: Vije had the Blue Cheese, Bacon and Pear on a bed of julienne vegetables, crisp salad greens and a black cherry vinaigrette

Mains: I had the Seared Norwegian Salmon which was absolutely divine. Vije had the Mozambique Chilli prawns pan Fried in garlic, peri peri, lemon and bay leaves. Served with basmati rice, Picco De Gallo salsa and coriander yoghurt. He enjoyed it but it was spicy.

Dessert: We asked for Chocolate fondant and they said their oven is broken.. Festive season..really?! So I ended up having Cargo Passion plate: Granadilla cheesecake, passion fruit brulée and passion fruit ice cream. It was average. Vije had the Berry Mille-Feuille with vanilla and chocolate panna cotta. It wasn’t very nice…

I think the restaurant is overpriced however the decor makes up for it :)

Will I eat at the restaurant again? Yes

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youbabyandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Something Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was a unique dining experience set inside the hold of a large beached shipwreck which offered views from all levels into the three storied Shark Tank of uShaka SeaWorld. There was a nice buzz about the place, the service was fast and the seafood we had was good value for money, washed down with reasonably priced quality local wines. Worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cocosuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cargo Hold Restaurant also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Cargo Hold Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing