We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service too fast”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Butcher Boys

Butcher Boys
Ranked #2 of 595 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Butcher Boys, an elegant upmarket steak restaurant, opened its doors in Morningside, Durban in November 1999. This sanctuary for meat lovers serve the best grain fed beef South Africa has to offer and our wet & dry aging process results in exceptional quality and texture. Our in house butcheries will cut to your preference whether it be lean or with a little fat or of a particular weight or thickness. Our unique temperature controlled wine cellars proudly house a diverse selection of indigenous vintage estate wines from the fairest Cape and surrounds.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“service too fast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The steak itself was good, as you would expect in such a restaurant. We just weren´t happy because the food arrived a couple of minutes after we had finished choosing the wine and we had no time to just sit and chat and take our surroundings in and relax.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    209
    51
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Place had everything, character great service, great food at a very reasonable price. Best steak I have had this year. If I ever go back to Durban this will be my first port of call.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peteweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Whatta Steak ! !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had a superb evening at Butcher Boys. One of the better steaks I've had anywhere and I know my steaks on 7-continents. I asked them to alter their sirloin and calamari combo with an upgrade to fillet and calamari which they cheerfully did. Unlike many places, they know how to cook steak just so, and they did a perfect job on my medium rare selection. The Calamari was equally good and again perfectly cooked so it was not chewy as it can so easily get. They had a nice bar with a good selection, service was friendly and casual. Importantly, it was quite affordable and a great value for the quality of food and service.

They were hopping busy on a Thursday night and we had to wait 10-minutes to get a table, so I'd recommend reservations. If I'm back in Durban, I'd be happy to go back

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelplansr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Steak grilled to perfection just the way I asked. 3 of us ordered the special of the day, which was a aged Sirlion steak, with a mild chilly mussel topping soft and juicy, as recommended by the efficient friendly waitress. All 3 were perfectly grilled. They age their meat on site and will advise you what is at it's prime on the day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David-JW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's true - their steaks are legendary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Florida Road in Morningside buzzes with activity with many restaurants and pubs vying for your attention. Well, look no further if you are after excellent service and outstanding food. The vibe is great, kind of obvious because the food is great! My husband recommends the Marrow Bone starter, he polished it off in a flash. Our mains were Rib Eye steak and grilled Calamari in lemon butter sauce. The steak was accompanied by a baked potato, green peppercorn sauce and a Greek Salad. Wow! Super tasty. The only niggling tiny thing was the small cocktail menu, just 4 cocktails to choose from - but hey, when the food is so great, who actually cares. Go there, you won't be sorry!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MargieKnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butcher Boys also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butcher Boys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing