We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spiga D'oro

Spiga D'oro
Ranked #7 of 589 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We wanted to try the new Spiga in Durban north. Entering the restaurant was interesting it was on the board line being innovative or just plain boring. Floors where earth finish , no signs outside , tables are small and normal, very noisy because of the lack of decor , walls we plain no art no extra lights. But the food was great pasta was good clean and soft the pizza was tasty and light. All in all good experience but not my cup of tea or shot of tequila.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    259
    65
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The linguine puttenesca was fantastic - it had me returning several times during a week's stay in Durban. It is a busy place and the staff are attentive and efficient - the food memorable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank aussiesJandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Young and thriving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were there as a bunch of four people on a weekend. The place was a bit crowded at that time and we got ourselves a table after a little waiting but then the food and the whole ambiance of the place totally made for the waiting. The serving staff are really quick, efficient and friendly and then they have a huge variety in menu and we loved their lamb preparations. Truly a good place to explore if you are craving for Italian.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
94 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Italian at reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Visiting durban I encounter this nice Italian restaurant. . Nice service. . Nice young atmosphere...nice Italian food..
Nice price...What else do need for a fun evening at durban?

Helpful?
Thank abe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistent great food quality and good vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We eat here regularly, usually once a week! The vibe is good, & the food is always good. They have draft beer which I like, & they allow one to bring wine. The place is popular, & we sometimes have to wait, but this is not a problem for me as I sit at the bar & have a beer while I wait. They opened a new restaurant in Durban north, but the atmosphere was not nearly as good, & the food was not up to the usual Spiga standard.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spiga D'oro also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Spiga D'oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing