We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Saturday Lunch date! ”
Review of Bite Your Tongue

Bite Your Tongue
Ranked #84 of 616 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our Saturday Lunch date! ”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We often dine in on Saturday when the half price sushi special is on. All the sushi except the platter is on special. There are at least 6 different sushi type available on the convayer belt. You can order the chef's special thru the server and still get it half price. This is not a fancy restaurant. This is your typical average joe take-away type restaurant -- thus we love the no-frills, laid back atmosphere not to mention really affordable sushi.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good food and excellent service!!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Awesome,awesome food and exceptional service and value added for your money. I always leave with take ways which I never get to eat, but I always go back xxx

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 250765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tempanyaki”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great local place. The tempanyaki chef has a couple amazing dishes with tastes that will blow your mind. Try the calamari, the chicken filet with pineapple and the prawns, any style.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Corstens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“excellent fast service and fresh sushi”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Living just up the road we had avoided this place because it looked a bit grimy before the renovation. The place was packed on a Thursday when we decided to give it a go and we were glad we did. Service was super super fast, very friendly waitress and we didnt realise it was a half price night so they squeezed us in on the tepanyaki table which was fine for a quick bite.

We had excellent salmon sashimi, miso soup and curry chicken and the best lumpia style spring rolls I have had in a long while, very fresh and not greasy and the prawns inside were sweet and fresh tasting. Nice to see lots of fresh mushrooms in the chicken dish instead of the usual onions and green peppers. The only slight disappointment was the tempura prawns which were not crispy and batter a bit thick but again the actual prawns were really fresh tasting.

Even with the half price night the other dishes are very reasonably priced. We will be back with the kids next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annalagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sushi was FROZEN when served”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Disgusting! The sushi was like ice when it was served to us. The salmon was frozen. The service was slow.

Helpful?
Thank MegCr0sby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bite Your Tongue also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Bite Your Tongue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing