We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my worst meals ... Ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oscar's

Oscar's
Ranked #429 of 589 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Indian, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of my worst meals ... Ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Painfully slow service followed by a baby chicken that was overdone on one side with some barely edible sections but burnt beyond recognition on the other side. The reactions of the waiter, manager ( he ran away when I was about to pay) and the owner were deplorable. I can't remember when last I gave no tip whatsoever ... Must be over 20 years

Helpful?
Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    11
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooked Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Had dinner at this restaurant a couple of weeks ago, a nice range of 'home cooked dinner' type foods. Food was very good, the service was also very good. The atmosphere is relaxed and easy, overall, most enjoyable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank deandbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No Longer Award Winning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Oscars, on Durban's Berea, was once a buzzing, vibrant venue, drawing appreciative diners because of its well-priced and varied menu. Over the past few years, as the original owner moved on, the restaurant has lost its lustre.
In today's tough times, many restaurants offer breakfast specials at lower prices, to draw diners, who, hopefully, will return for other meals. After over a year's absence, we tried Oscars on a Sunday morning, to try their morning breakfast special. The venue is looking decidedly tired and shabby. Walls need painting, the ceiling, too, and the small number of customers seemed to vindicate our response to the breakfast special, with toast a little soggy and the muddy coffee equally unappealing. Size of servings had shrunk, the prices raised, and our sampling of a once-favourite restaurant left us with sad resolution not to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drphil21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1,313 reviews
865 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“in spite of illy sign, really mediocre cappuccino”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

part of the menu is always solid and reliable , but the coffee is better elsewhere . some of the locations are really noisy

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
189 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Horrible food and service non-existant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I popped into this small eatery for a quick bite to eat. The service does not exist, you'll get a menu maybe. It is also a video store so the coffee shop atmosphere does not quite work. I ordered a cafe latte and toasted cheese and tomatoe on rye, it was like eating a piece of concrete, hard on the outside, soft and yuk on the inside, it stuck to my palate. And they charge extra for rye bread? The most awful sandwich I have ever had. Sorry Oscars I shall not be back ever.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oscar's also viewed

 

Been to Oscar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing