We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasting Menu a Must!”
Review of 9th Avenue Bistro

9th Avenue Bistro
Ranked #4 of 600 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: French, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: twitter: http://twitter.com/9thavenuebistro
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu a Must!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic evening at 9th Ave Bistro last night. We opted for the tasting menu whilst I included the wine pairing as an option.

Each and every course was delicious, stand outs were the butternut ravioli (I will go back simply to enjoy this as a main!), the blackened linefish with roasted tomato and fennel risotto and the sous-vide lamb shoulder. Just writing this makes me want to go back tonight! As if this wasn't enough for the taste bud, we were "forced" to finish off with a dark chocolate torte and white chocolate ice-cream!

Awesome meal and evening with excellent and attentive service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    108
    34
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“9th avenue Bistro”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved this restaurant as food was very good
Very friendly staff and management and an excellent ambience

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely food, fantastic service”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

After seeing it's high rating on trip advisor we booked a table at 9th ave bistro and we're not disappointed!

The menu is small which is always a good sign, they have seasonal specials that change daily and are happy to accommodate your requests, turning a starter into main etc.

The staff however were my favourite part of this restaurant. Although young they were extremely attentive, professional and knew the menu well. The manager/owner I presume was also a constant presence which showed that this restaurant is truly cared about. A refreshing thing to see.

A must visit in Durban. Booking is essential at busy times.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best of Durban?”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

What is the best thing about this restaurant, beyond the excellent, professional service, mind-blowing menu and boutique wine list? The unpretentiousness of it all - the atmosphere is refined casual. With the food they're serving up, this spot could easily have a stuffy, arrogant air to it but instead 9th Avenue Bistro offers a genuine good foodie time. We ordered a la carte - doesn't look like you can go wrong with anything on the menu - but will be back for the tasting menu. To finish it all off, they serve a perfect creme brûlée. Do yourself a favour and enjoy your next dinner out here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice ambience and good value”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

They seem to get it right often with taste, service and quality, however menu could do with more options.

Overall-would go back again as you know what to expect

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Q b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 9th Avenue Bistro also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to 9th Avenue Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing