We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hlulala Guest House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hluhluwe B&B and Inns
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Really a nice place to stay ... large, pleasant rooms, helpful staff and hosts.

I'll definitely use it again next time I'm in the area :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
8
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Stayed here for two nights to see the Hluhluwe park. Rooms are nicely decorated and have large windows facing the garden. They are equipped with shower, TV, tea/coffee maker. The very nice owner can help you with information regarding the park and also helps you to book tours etc. I wanted to leave very early to the park, so she organized a breakfast and lunch pack to take with me. Next day I enjoyed the regular breakfast, which was excellent. There is free and safe parking on the premises. Shopping facilities and (fast food) restaurants are located just across the road.

Overall: Highly recommended as a base to see Hluhluwe park. Would go anytime again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fruehstueckspause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

A last minute decision to stay an additional night in the area we found Hlulala.

The owner went out of her way to make us feel comfortable on checking in and recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner.

We wanted to leave early to go to the Game Park and in turn she provided an excellent breakfast pack for us.

If in the area again I will definitely return

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niederrhein
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

A good place to go to Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve.
We found a nlovely garden and friendly and helpful hosts. You can even have dinner there so that you don't have to find a restaurant after a busy day in Hluhluwe. If it wasn't for Hluhluwe you wouldn't go to this village anyway.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musimausi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
2.9 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ama Zulu Guesthouse
Ama Zulu Guesthouse
#1 of 10 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fever Tree Guest House
The Fever Tree Guest House
#3 of 10 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlulala Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlulala Guest House

Property: Hlulala Guest House
Address: 56 Main Rd, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hlulala Guest House is the perfect base from which to explore Coastal attractions like Cape Vidal, Black Rock, 9 Mile Beach, Kosi Bay Mouth, Mabibi, Mapelane, Mission Rocks and Sodwana Bay. Hlulala Guest House is situated at the entrance of Hluhluwe Village, within walking distance of all supermarkets and stores. When entering the village Hlulala Guest House is the second house on the right."....kick off your shoes 'cause you're home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hlulala Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hlulala Guest House Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing