We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spur of the moment family weekend away”
Review of Leopard Walk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leopard Walk Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

For a quick get away not too far from home, we where welcomed with open arms by Rob and his team. We where booked in the Secrets of the Forest which is typically your Honeymoon suite (and what a HONEYMOON SUITE it is!) and was temporarly made into a family room with an extra bed and even a camp cot for our baby. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was relaxing - just what we needed. My first words when we walked in was "wow....." The rooms where identical to the website, beautifully presented, very clean and very inviting. We enjoyed sitting on the private patio listening to birds and enjoying the peace and tranquility the lodge offers. As much as the jucuzzi is meant for a romantic evening it was so enjoyable with the kids giggling with delight at their first jacuzzi experience. We came home feeling like we had been on a 2 week holiday and not just a night away. Every detail and comfort has been thought of and we look forward to returning for a little longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

As a wheelchair user I write all of my reviews with that in mind. Leopard Walk Lodge is in the heart of the bush. Tarmac roads and paths just would not look right and the tracks are useable, with care. The staff were extremely friendly and went to a great deal of trouble for us. We went to Africa to celebrate our Silver Wedding and to renew our wedding vows and they went out of their way to make it special for us and it certainly was. We also had Zebras as witnesses !!
We had a troop of monkeys on the lodge balcony, sharing our fresh fruit salad. One night when it was raining the staff brought our dinner to our lodge.
No there isn't a television or radio but who wants that when the sounds of the bush are around. Just sit quietly and listen. Wonderful. If you want live nightly entertainment book into a holiday camp. If you love nature then this is for you.
.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is an exceptional lodge which is highly suited to couples. The privacy and tranquility of the rooms are ideal for couples seeking a relaxing, romantic break. The outdoor jacuzzi is awesome and a real delight. I proposed to my wife here, and the setting is absolutely perfect for making memories that will last a lifetime.
The meals are excellent, and the zebras even came along the one night to say hello!
If you are thinking of going, don't hesitate, just go for it, because you certainly won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Very disappoining. Stayed at a lot of lodges in area so have comparisons.

Sick of boiled rice, musy veg, chicken and indistinguisable roast!

Serving "Ricoffy" is usually the benchmark for me! Should have predicted the rest once I'd seen that! Staff friendly but not interested. Very bland boring decor. Social area is bar counter one coffee table and some chairs around it. Staff enjoy TV though.

The basics are good, rooms are clean but despeately needs inspiration all round. Looks like it was set up but owners not really interested in investing in it.

We were put in Basic rooms which are over priced for area.

Holes in sheet. No area to sit in evening when put out of dining/pub (8:45pm). Rooms are tiny we had to split up our group to sit in ourrooms as we couldn't all fit in one to chat!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staniland20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leopard_Admin, Owner at Leopard Walk Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Our lodge strives to optimize our guests experience .

We are located in a nature reserve, thus striving to maximize the natural aspects of the surroundings with decor accents which are not imposing.

The guest reserved the less expensive accommodation at the level which they selected, other accommodation options are available. On inspection a tiny irregularity was found in the sheet and this is regrettable - our head house keeper was ill and it must have slipped through her careful assessment of all linen.

Our meals are varied and always provide 3 vegetables and further to this also potato roasted and /or baked, and rice. We also serve home made bread at each dinner, 2 meat dishes, 3 salads and a choice of two deserts. Combinations are changed daily so that there is a different menu each night.


Unfortunately the guest name is not stated, nor are their stay dates indicated. No communication by the guest regarding dissatisfaction at the time was received by either ourselves or our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My wife and I, together with two friends spent 4 nights at this property at the end of a great holiday in South Africa.
We had a great time. For people to say there is nothing to do in my view misses the point. The point is that you can relax in a peaceful and undisturbed environment, that gives you a feel of Africa. The stroll along a sandy path, through the woods to our chalet was delightful, and it would be ruined if the paths were paved, because you would not be able to see the footprints of the animals that had passed that way before!
The staff were fantastic and ever helpful, even providing a packed breakfast for us when we went early one day to go on safari, without us even asking for one. The food was plentiful and well cooked, and served in the delightful surroundings of the dining area that was open on three sides. some evenings the zebras come up to visit you and watch from the other side of the rail!!! The added cost of eating there in the evenings ( which I would recommend as the lodge is a fair distance from the town) was very reasonable indeed.
Thoroughly recommended if you wish a peaceful stay with a feel of Africa, with great food and fabulous service with a smile and happiness

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robinalastair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We arrived at the leopard walk on the 12th of January and we were greeted by Zandile, one of the amazing friendly staff of Rob, they carried our things to the honeymoon suite and in no time our host Rob Cuthberson walked to our suite carrying my beers and welcming us to the lodge, fr me it was wow as it was the first time in the forest for me, he then had our outdoor jaccuzi cleaned and we were treated to champagne, the room's decor contributes to a very intimate atmoshere, which made our time together very special. Rob enjoys chatting to his guests making sure everything was to our satisfaction.

we requested chicken, lamb and fish, for religious purposes which was freshly prepared to our desire, so basically eveything he said he will do he did and his staff was perfect. On the 14th of jan which was my birthday we had a breakdown as my alternator belt snapped on my car in hluhluwe, we foned to rob top ask were can we go, he then met us in town and assisted us in looking for a belt which no spare shop had. rob then drove us toa workshop in the area where he waited with us and then we told him we would be fine until the belt that we managed to get was the wrong size and then rob returned to pick us up and take us back to the villa but first taking us to the bottle store.

he then checked up us on us the whole evening and gave us the room for 2 xta hous in the morning, he thn drove us back to the workshop and furthe checked up on us untill the vehicle was repaired till the point i got home.

and the big thng is that we an inter racial couple and we were not victimised at all.

the leopard walk is a fantastic getaway with mindblowing service and an angel for a host. for 6 star treatment in the forest this is the place to be, it is worth every cent for a stunning holiday. god bless the leopard walk. one of south africas true must visits

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Staff were friendly, rooms were located in the bush which was nice however the dirt path to carry luggage and walk through needs to be tarred or gravelled,breakfast was very basic and repeatitive,not very "african" and sort of lazily done, there is nothing to do at the lodge so travelling needs to be done on a 10k dirt road to do any activities. This was difficult in the rain as the road was muddy and skidding etc was dangerous ,,no pool etc within the lodge and jacuzzi had no cover so could not be used as it was full of insects as its in the bush.nice animals can be viewed at entrance and exit of the lodge. Rooms were neat,however the blinds serve no purpose as you can see right through from the inside which made sleeping tough when the sun came up, the glass windows are nice but also made the room as hot as an oven when the electricity went out with the storm and sleeping without fan or a.c was horrible.overall a neat place but could do with a little upgrading as it has a lot of potential,for the price it was not bad but then again other lodges in the area are priced similarly that are more modern and value for money.sindy and rob friendly and accommodating and could definitely do very well on a larger scale with some facilities and activities to draw guests

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Shaaira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
0.0 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wildebees Ecolodge
Wildebees Ecolodge
#19 of 32 in Hluhluwe
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emdoneni Lodge
Emdoneni Lodge
#3 of 32 in Hluhluwe
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Walk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Walk Lodge

Address: D 405 False Bay, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £38 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leopard Walk Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your safari to Leopard Walk Lodge – a safe, romantic and friendly destination with excellent rates. Ideal for honeymoons, special occassions and eco-tourists – will bring you to South Africa’s world famous Elephant Coast, a spectacular natural wildlife area. Rejoice in your luxuarious accommodation with glass wrapped rooms set in a unique sand forest and relax in your own private outdoor Jaucuzzi. Set in a private wildlife reserve with over 350 bird species and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Leopard Walk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Walk Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing