We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend getaway”
Review of Leopard Walk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leopard Walk Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
“Fantastic weekend getaway”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What a great property to stay at, all staff were very friendly and helpful!

When we needed information about what to do and where to go in the area Rob made calls and organized it all.

I only went for 2 nights, wish I could hav stayed longer, hopefully I can back it back there soon!

Thank you leopard walk lodge and Rob for letting us stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenf91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    46
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
29
101
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Was the best, the food was well prepared best quality and more then enough, the accommodation felt like coming to a new place every day are the were cleaned daily, the hospitality 2 Thumbs up for that, i must say this is a must do.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eugene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Looking at the establishment on the website I was drawn by the rooms situated in the bush. Secluded and romantic. When we arrived it was really nice. The rooms definitely are very good and well appointed.
Unfortunately the dining/lounge area is lacking and doesnt serve lunch.
There is breakfast and dinner but really not great. For a 4 star establishment we expected alot better.
They should definitely expand and better the food service and add items to the minibar in the rooms.
Having some marked walking trails in the lodge camp will also be nice to view the game that is there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wsudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have read all the reviews and seen all the visitors photos, I was a bit hesitant as to what to expect, but I can honestly say that it was a stunning, relaxing weekend. One thing is for sure, you cannot visit Leopards Rock and expect a true five star lodge when you pay the rates you pay here. That said, what you pay for is worth the whole expereince. Rob, the owner is very friendly, helpfull and accomodating. The food was nice, the chalet we stayed in is situated within the lush green Natal bush, it was spacious with large open windows, the outdoor jacuzzi was obviously the selling point and we made good use of that.

The stay included a range of activities and we chose the wild cat encounter and the game drive at Hluhluwe / Imfolozi national park. This is such a stunning park....we spotted more rhinos than buck lol....a rare opportunity in SA these days. Overall we would have liked to stay a few days longer.......there are so much to do in the area

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay! Peaceful and quiet. The staff are friendly and the owner is very accommodating. Great place to "get away to" but still not far from the national park.
Private chalets where curtains and doors aren't needed. Wheel chair accessible, and becoming wheel chair friendly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The rooms are fabulous - large and spacious, good bathrooms and nicely appointed. The outdoor jacuzzi is a nice touch but to be honest not a major selling point for me - although my wife & I did enjoy a good soak after a long drive. The glass walls are clever design but for me they are facing a little too much towards the forest and that does of course limit the view - we did see duiker, nyala and a few birds around the room, but I personally think views would be better if placed at the end of the forest looking out........but that's a matter of choice. Food was perfectly good - not outstanding but good, honest home cooked food, and the staff were helpful and friendly. The wildlife within the mini-reserve are fun - zebra, wildebeest, various small antelope and warthogs and it's safe to walk which was enjoyable. There are many worse places to relax and I would recommend it for families with young children who will be enchanted by the animals

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A awesome getaway if you looking for time alone with no smog and noise pollution,they have a jacuzzi out side that lets you gaze into the sky and melt a way for hours.The guys that run the lodge are great hosts and have a great,well organised venue. A MUST ON THE TRAVEL LIST and we will be going back.. :) Thanks Rob and Team!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.0 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
0.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#1 of 32 in Hluhluwe
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wildebees Ecolodge
Wildebees Ecolodge
#17 of 32 in Hluhluwe
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Walk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Walk Lodge

Property: Leopard Walk Lodge
Address: D 405 False Bay, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leopard Walk Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your safari to Leopard Walk Lodge – a safe, romantic and friendly destination with excellent rates. Ideal for honeymoons, special occassions and eco-tourists – will bring you to South Africa’s world famous Elephant Coast, a spectacular natural wildlife area. Rejoice in your luxuarious accommodation with glass wrapped rooms set in a unique sand forest and relax in your own private outdoor Jaucuzzi. Set in a private wildlife reserve with over 350 bird species and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Leopard Walk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Walk Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing