We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakaway”
Review of Leopard Walk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leopard Walk Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mtubatuba
1 review
“Breakaway”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Nice quiet place for a romantic getaway. Situated in the bush away from your every day stress. Nicely secluded and a lot of privacy. I would have preferred covers on the outside jacuzzis but still stunning to be able to sit in the jacuzzi with just the sound of nature surrounding you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    46
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
101
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This place is completely off the beaten track and is great to cut out all the chaos of city life. We had a 2 night stay here. We were given lodge number 8 which had a wooden deck, lovely spacious bedroom/ living area with large bed, walk through closet/storage area and a bathroom with bath and shower. It also had a lovely Jacuzzi at the side. Each lodge is well hidden from the man path and other lodges so u truly feel you are on your own. The bed was comfy enough and made with fresh flowers on top each day which was pretty. However my peacefully sleep was continuously broken by the bats on the roof and other strange noises. All very wild and lovely but when trying to sleep it was hard going. Especially at one point when we were just getting into bed a bat swooped down at my fiancé. It was actually inside which was very funny but a little scary at it seemed to be swooping for him continuously until we managed to get it outside! Close encounter indeed!
The Jacuzzi was lovely! and it was nice to have the time to use it as to be honest there wasn't much else to do.
We visited the croc place which was good and the weaver nearby which had lots of nice things to buy. We also went on an afternoon game drive ran by the nearby protea hotel. We were out for a couple of hours and we saw rhino...lots of rhino. Apparently we were unlucky not to see much else and that is was unusual.
We did meet the lovely friendly Zebra on our way out too which was nice!
My only complaint would be that they are missing a trick with not using the bar/dining area more. It is lacking a real atmosphere and near enough as soon as you have finished your meal you are hurried back to your room. They blew out nearly all the candles while we were sitting at the table both nights. We felt very uncomfortable having to quickly drink our drinks. I understand the girls wanted to get to their bed/home as they had been there since early but investing in more staff for shift changes would improve this. I am talking before even 8pm they were closing up. More could be made of but still keeping the nice relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WELLESLEY HILLS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I, my wife, and two grown boys found the Leopard Walk to be the right combination of natural setting, comfortable accommodations, and access to surrounding parks and beaches. We enjoy nature, and there's a lot to see on the grounds of the lodge, which is on the Suni-Ridge Preserve, a wildlife conservation project started by the owners. Very good destination for nature-minded travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WellesleyRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had a lovely time and highly recommend to any one wanting to go to hluhluwe!! Is central to all activities in hluhluwe, staff are friendly and helpful and will help book activities such as game drives ect. Would have loved to stay longer

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What a great property to stay at, all staff were very friendly and helpful!

When we needed information about what to do and where to go in the area Rob made calls and organized it all.

I only went for 2 nights, wish I could hav stayed longer, hopefully I can back it back there soon!

Thank you leopard walk lodge and Rob for letting us stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenf91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Was the best, the food was well prepared best quality and more then enough, the accommodation felt like coming to a new place every day are the were cleaned daily, the hospitality 2 Thumbs up for that, i must say this is a must do.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eugene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Looking at the establishment on the website I was drawn by the rooms situated in the bush. Secluded and romantic. When we arrived it was really nice. The rooms definitely are very good and well appointed.
Unfortunately the dining/lounge area is lacking and doesnt serve lunch.
There is breakfast and dinner but really not great. For a 4 star establishment we expected alot better.
They should definitely expand and better the food service and add items to the minibar in the rooms.
Having some marked walking trails in the lodge camp will also be nice to view the game that is there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wsudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
0.0 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
0.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 31 in Hluhluwe
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wildebees Ecolodge
Wildebees Ecolodge
#18 of 31 in Hluhluwe
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Mkuze
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Walk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Walk Lodge

Property: Leopard Walk Lodge
Address: D 405 False Bay, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leopard Walk Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your safari to Leopard Walk Lodge – a safe, romantic and friendly destination with excellent rates. Ideal for honeymoons, special occassions and eco-tourists – will bring you to South Africa’s world famous Elephant Coast, a spectacular natural wildlife area. Rejoice in your luxuarious accommodation with glass wrapped rooms set in a unique sand forest and relax in your own private outdoor Jaucuzzi. Set in a private wildlife reserve with over 350 bird species and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Leopard Walk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Walk Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing