We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great, relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Leopard Walk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leopard Walk Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great, relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Visited and stayed in the "Secrets of the forest" room complete with outdoor jacuzzi! Great setting, close to Hluhlue in its own fenced area complete with animals (nyala, zebra etc) which can been seen very close up from the lodge. Great room, spacious with great outdoor jacuzzi. Good food and friendly, approachable staff. Only thing I would have found helpful would be some way of booking excursions - especially game drives, through the lodge rather than having to book through another hotel in town (in our case this meant we were unable to get onto a drive and had to do a self drive). All in all would definitely recommend but advise visitors to book a game drive in advance if they are only staying for a short time as this cannot be done from the lodge

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Damien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leopard_Admin, Owner at Leopard Walk Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hi Damien,
Thank you for your constructive and valued review.
Thank you for enjoying your visit to Leopard Walk Lodge and most of all for your appreciation of our wildlife.
We do arrange activities at the lodge for all our guests where requested, however we regret that we could not meet your activity requirement for the morning after your arrival for your 2 night stay as activity arrangements are subject to availability on the day, specifically game drives. It is advisable therefore for guests on reservation to mention their preference and activity requirements. However we would nevertheless assist should there be availability for an activity requested after arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    44
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
26
97
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Picture the scene..... Two tired and weary travellers revelling in the hedonistic air of romance after being reunited for the first time in over 18 months. Our tired bodies arrive under the last dregs of steam we could muster, to be revived with the sweet tranquility and beauty of this wonderful resort.
A last minute booking leaving us no option but the honeymoon suite. Shown to our rooms by an approachable lady we were left bereft of any lasting negativity from the long journey that had preceded our arrival.
Our collective minds blown away by the jacuzzi that was as secluded as promised.... Our thoughts began to wander with the possibilities that awaited us for the coming evening.
Arriving in the restaurant after a relaxing yet energy pre-dinner jacuzzi we feasted upon the local culinary delights.
Imagine our pleasant surprise when our longing gazes over the candlelight were broken by a pair of zebra that approached us from the beautiful vista laid out in front of us.
Retiring to our room for a final, moonlit and sensual jacuzzi we stumble upon yet more wildlife.
A well recommended getaway for anyone wanting to rekindle a old flame.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My Wife and I spent n amazing weekend at this magnificent lodge, it was quite, serene, yet the hospitality, the culinary experience the surroundings and the staff was all absolutely amazing. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of every day life, yet close enough to all the wonders of Zululand. this will most definitely be an experience both my wife and I would want to and plan to relive and revisit again. The rooms are immaculate, the dining area is beautiful, the experience of eating your meal with wild life roaming free just a couple of meters away. Rob was able to supply us with all the needed and interesting facts regarding the rich history and diversity of the area as well as all the to do's that are included in the package are absolutely amazing

Room Tip: they are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariak17511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our third stay and once again we found it very difficult to leave. The room was spotless and added attention to detail makes you feel well looked after. There is a feeling of absolute privacy and you really do feel like you are sleeping right in the bush with the wrap around sliding doors, which is wonderful to wake up to. The staff are extremely helpful and willing to go out of their way to ensure you have the perfect stay. The evenings are a special experience out on the deck where you can enjoy delicious food next to a log fire while looking out at the animals coming to drink at the waterhole. There is a lot to do in the area too, so we really enjoyed relaxing in the jacuzzi in the evening after a full day exploring Zululand. This is a special place, especially considering it used to be a pineapple farm and has since been regenerated back to unique Sand Forest. The owners are clearly conservationists too and have a love for what they do. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

As an avid traveler and writer I must commend Rob and his team at the Leopard Walk Lodge. We arrived after 5pm to a spotless chalet in the woods surrounded by glass walls which provided the most amazing views from our beds. The attention to detail and the high standard of cleanliness, friendly service with a smile and excellent food was beyond expectations. A bush experience often has an expectation of less attention to detail and 'roughing it out in the wild' - but Leopard Lodge provides an adventure in the wild without compromising on cleanliness, service and comfort. Well done to everyone who really made our stay memorable. Highly recommendable if you want to enjoy your Zululand experience - it surpasses expectations and the visiting Zebras at breakfast are a cherry on the top! Thank you Rob and team, will definitely be back for more! from the Teke family in South Africa and Germany!

Room Tip: Forest Rooms A+ offer amazing views, privacy and you can watch the animals from your bed through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEKETRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My partner and I had the most amazing time at this gorgeous lodge. The rooms are huge and very private, with little buck and zebra visitors all around. The staff are exceptional and we felt like royalty, our every need taken care of. Sibonzile is an absolute gem and deserves a raise:)

We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful environment and wild life and I am envious that there are people able to life in such a paradise permanently.

I would like to thank them so so much for the wonderful experience, as I have not been up to the Elephant coast before and it was truly memorable.

I would definitely recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: The secrets of the forest outside jacuzzi is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaDuP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Leopard Walk Lodge was more than we expected by far !
Having come from Imfolozi Game Reserve Safari tented camp, the luxury of our chalet was just what we were needing. The absolute privacy of the chalet was awesome.
Romantic dinners next to the log fire and scrumptious breakfast, we were well looked after by the staff who were extremely friendly.
Thank you Rob for a memorable stay. We will be back !
Peter and Sharon Atcheson

Room Tip: Secrets of the Forest A+ Suite ( No 6 )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patcheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
0.0 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#10 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Walk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Walk Lodge

Property: Leopard Walk Lodge
Address: D 405 False Bay, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leopard Walk Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your safari to Leopard Walk Lodge – a safe, romantic and friendly destination with excellent rates. Ideal for honeymoons, special occassions and eco-tourists – will bring you to South Africa’s world famous Elephant Coast, a spectacular natural wildlife area. Rejoice in your luxuarious accommodation with glass wrapped rooms set in a unique sand forest and relax in your own private outdoor Jaucuzzi. Set in a private wildlife reserve with over 350 bird species and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Leopard Walk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Walk Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing