We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solution”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ama Zulu Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 9 Hluhluwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good solution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We arrived quite late after a 2 hours delay of our flight to Richards Bay (which apparently happens quite frequently) and having had a rough e-mail conversation with the owner for an error in the deposit (they took the whole price rather than 50% as indicated on booking.com) I was not expecting much, instead I was really positively surprised by the availability of the owner, who stayed up to check us in and was very generous with infiormation on our onwards destination. He even offered to have our breakfast ready at 7 so that we could leave early.

Our room (I believe it was the Kudu) was very big and comfortable, with a huge bathroom, a very welcome rest sto pafter a whole day of travelling. I cannot really complain although we stayed just for the night and were up quite early.

Withouth the GPS (and the coordinates provided on their website) I would have found it quite difficult to get to destination, so make sure you have a map of where they are, and once you reach the destination with the GPS just bear in mind they are actually slightly further ahead on the road. Huhluwe is not a big village and I am sure at the petrol station they would be happy to help, but just in case.

Unfortunately we didn't have time to visit the nearby park as we were heading straight for Rocktail Bay, anyway I would reccomend it for longer stays and visits to the park.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silviaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    64
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
68
122
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and I was not really happe about it. We had the Cheetah room, which should be 35 m2, but an impossible bathtub and a lot of unnescesary furniture (e.g. lots of cusions) took up a lot of space. The room was very dark (black painted walls) and it was not possible to sit and read in the evening. The cusions smelled of former tenants' sweat and in the shower was mould. We could not have dinner there and had the choice of a restaurant 17 km away, a stateowned hotel-restaurant not so far away - or to buy some meat and charcoal (?!?) at the lokal supermarket and do our own braai in the courtyard. Everything was taken a bit "lefthanded", we thought. But it is very close til Hluhluwe-Imfolozi National Park and False Bay - 2 very interesting places.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed in the Kudu suite and it was very spacious! A huge bed, a separate area with the frigde and one of the biggest and nicest bathrooms I have ever seen.
There are two outside baai area's (the SPAR supermarket is just around the corner and has everything you need for a braai). The owners are very friendly and helpfull.
To the entrance of the national park of Hluhluwe is a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rianne_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in this Lodge for one night. We must have had a different room to everyone elses, ours was dark and gloomy and the bathroom was in dire need of updating. There were stains on the bed linen. When we tried to secure the door the lock was broken, this in turn made me feel very uncomfortable about leaving our belongings there and also whilst we were sleeping. We asked for breakfast at 7 for the next day as we wanted to miss holiday traffic, but when we dared to arrive 10 minutes early we were told in no uncertain terms that we should not have turned up for breakfast when we did. I couldn't wait to get out of the place!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Perfect location, just 20 mins from the game reserve. The rooms at Ama Zulu are tastefully decorated in a modern African style, beds are comfortable, bathroom is enormous and breakfast scrumptious. We felt very welcome and at home with Llewelyn and Maralize. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Great location for visiting the Hluhluwe reserve, just 15 minutes drive. We got the biggest room (red, black and white decor) and it was really lovely and comfortable, AC, TV, fridge, kettle, etc. The bathroom was huge and also really lovely with both a tub and shower. Only minus for the room was that there was no door to the toilet and when sharing a room with someone that has food poisoning, you really wish there had been a door... Nice breakfast that they adjusted to us, nice pool area. Very helpful owners, specially when they heard about my boyfriend's illness, we were lucky to be at such a nice place when bad luck struck.

On the minus side, the town of Hluhluwe was quite boring though, no restaurants, just fast-food places, a couple supermarkets and guesthouses. We were told we could use the BBQ at Ama zulu, but we never did, so we ended up mainly eating fastfood and buying pot noodles (we had a kettle in the room).

Room Tip: The room we got, the black, white and red one was the biggest and the one with most windows so it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSarah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Nice room, nice amenities, good location. Housekeeper moved our clothes out of our sight. We forgot them and asked the landlady to send them to us,(Europe) which of course we would pay for. She tried to charge us for a damaged quilt which we were definitely not responsible for. Finally she agreed on sending the clothes, we transfered the money but the package never arrived because of her illegible handwriting of the adress. The clothes were sent back to South Africa, but the landlady refused to send them again. A compelling and unpleasant mailcontact was established from the beginning of our request to return our clothes. A beautiful facade of a nice guesthouse covers a stingy landlord who you don't want to be in disagreement with.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
3.3 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fever Tree Guest House
6.6 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ama Zulu Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ama Zulu Guesthouse

Property: Ama Zulu Guesthouse
Address: 70 Nyala Street | Hluhluwe, Hluhluwe 3950, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ama Zulu Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ama Zulu Guesthouse is set in the heart of Hluhluwe and the beautiful untamed Elephant Coast in KwaZulu Natal. This newly renovated house offers guests comfortable accommodation in a relaxing atmosphere at affordable rates. The taste fully furnished and decorated bedrooms all have private entrances, en-suite bathrooms and are equipped with coffee and tea making facilities, bar fridge and colour TV with M-Net. A Continental and full English Breakfast is served daily. Dinners on request. Guests are welcome to relax in the courtyard or at the pool area and enjoy the fresh air and sunny skies. Braai/ barbeque facilities are available! Laundry service available! Children welcome! This Guesthouse greatest asset is it's location ideally situated between the world renowned Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve and the Greater St Lucia Wetland Park. Where the untamed wildlife and marine reserves meet creating an eco-system of unparalleled bio-diversity. Ama Zulu Guesthouse is also within easy reach of Sodwana Bay, St Lucia, Cape Vidal, Lake Sibaya, Mkuze Game Reserve, as well as Ndumo Game Reserve, Tembe Elephant Park and Lake Josini. The "umHluhluwe Safaris" arranges three, six and nine hour safaris into the game reserve. Champagne breakfasts, bush braai's, lunch packs as well as picnics in the Park can also be arranged on request. Qualified field guides will take you on safari in comfortable, modern open game drive vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ama Zulu Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ama Zulu Guesthouse Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing