We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ama Zulu Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 10 Hluhluwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Shepstone, South Africa
1 review
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I only stayed 1 night but the hospitality was great. Although the lady of the house was in hospital, her husband did a fine job of keeping things running smoothly and even served me up a great breakfast! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    65
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
68
123
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villiersdorp
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We enjoyed every minute!!! Excellent guesthouse! The owner went out of his way to make sure that we were satisfied - thank you very much! we will definitely go back and recommend this place tp our friends!


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were impressed by the hospitality and accommodations. Super friendly hosts added to the enjoyment of the trip. Also, great breakfasts. We would return. Great location to Hluhluwe provincial safari park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Veronique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hosts were very friendly and helpful, the room although fairly small was beautifully laid out and very well equipped, a lovely sitting our area, with use of braii and garden. The breakfasts (two days) were imaginative, different each day and very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We loved our stay in the Honeymoon Room. We felt spoiled and loved every minute of it. A great place to come home to after spending the day in Hluluwe Park. The owners are friendly and very helpful with information. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy_NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed two nights at Amazulu Guesthouse and really loved it a lot. It's a very nice guesthouse, clean and tidy. All rooms are really lovely decorated. The owners are very friendly and always there to help out or giving tips what to plan during your stay. We would always come back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

2 night stay in April, out on game drives so left each day at 5.30am, returning late. Each day a massive packed breakfast was prepared for us and Llewellyn was excellent. This was true value for money

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
3.3 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fever Tree Guest House
The Fever Tree Guest House
#3 of 10 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
6.6 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ama Zulu Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ama Zulu Guesthouse

Property: Ama Zulu Guesthouse
Address: 70 Nyala Street | Hluhluwe, Hluhluwe 3950, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ama Zulu Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ama Zulu Guesthouse is set in the heart of Hluhluwe and the beautiful untamed Elephant Coast in KwaZulu Natal. This newly renovated house offers guests comfortable accommodation in a relaxing atmosphere at affordable rates. The taste fully furnished and decorated bedrooms all have private entrances, en-suite bathrooms and are equipped with coffee and tea making facilities, bar fridge and colour TV with M-Net. A Continental and full English Breakfast is served daily. Dinners on request. Guests are welcome to relax in the courtyard or at the pool area and enjoy the fresh air and sunny skies. Braai/ barbeque facilities are available! Laundry service available! Children welcome! This Guesthouse greatest asset is it's location ideally situated between the world renowned Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve and the Greater St Lucia Wetland Park. Where the untamed wildlife and marine reserves meet creating an eco-system of unparalleled bio-diversity. Ama Zulu Guesthouse is also within easy reach of Sodwana Bay, St Lucia, Cape Vidal, Lake Sibaya, Mkuze Game Reserve, as well as Ndumo Game Reserve, Tembe Elephant Park and Lake Josini. The "umHluhluwe Safaris" arranges three, six and nine hour safaris into the game reserve. Champagne breakfasts, bush braai's, lunch packs as well as picnics in the Park can also be arranged on request. Qualified field guides will take you on safari in comfortable, modern open game drive vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ama Zulu Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ama Zulu Guesthouse Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing