We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp(Hluhluwe Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
49
23
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
23
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree lodgeweaver birdsall mod consjungle gym for the kidshigh teabraai facilitiesgame drivesself cateringwith open armsgame reservecomfy bedexcellent staya nice place to staydoor stepstayed here for nightsovernight stopon stilts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked into rondavles 18 and 19. Wow we were very impressed. Spotlessly clean, all mod cons, lovely, HUGE, comfy bed. The grounds are well kept as is the pool area. Food at Breakfast and Dinner was delicious....Staff very friendly especially the Ladies at breakfast time. Lots of buck wandering about the grounds and great bird life. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillyDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We are so elated to hear that you and your partner had such a memorable stay with us! And thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write such a shining review. We are so proud to see that so many of our guests enjoy their stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

From being welcomed when arriving till we left we were literally carried on the hands by the friendly staff. The bungalow was clean and looked like a honeymoon suite with flowers and petals all over. The comfort and size and cleanliness need mentioning. Visitors to this Lodge will be very satisfied as animals walk close by and the waterhole is a treat to watch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the waterhole then you can see the game come to drink.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for sharing this with us! We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our goal has always been to allow our guests to have the best experience possible while staying in our lodge and to see such a positive response really does brighten our day.
We hope to see you again soon and blessings for the New Year!
The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great place! Both lodges are excellent. The food is great and safaris are always exciting with their experiences rangers. Be ware of monekys in the breakfast area :)
Both the local afternoon game drive and the morning trips to the big safari park are excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MortenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We appreciate the time you took to write this beautiful review. We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time at Ubizane and have enjoyed the wonders of the magical African bush.
We strive to show our guests how wonderful the bush and nature can be while living in the lap of luxury. As for the monkeys, they are very naughty and love the muffins we set out so we’ve got our hands full with the mischievous little creatures!

We thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again back at Ubizane in the near future!

Kind Regards,
The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in one of the tree lodges overlooking zebra grazing and monkeys running around. What a treat! The welcome when we arrived was lovely, the staff took our bags and gave us a refreshing welcome cocktail. Our tree lodge was very comfortable. It was very unfortunate that we had a power cut on the first evening, and without the use of air conditioning our room was stiffling hot, which made for a terrible nights sleep. We just wish the staff had told us that there was a fuse switch and at about 11pm the power had actually come back on and if we had used this switch we wouldn't have had such a bad night....never mind.
The food was delicious and we were lucky to have 1 evening in the resturant and another outside around the fire. Great hospitality and wonderful staff - I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Only 1 hour from St Lucia where they do boat trips to see crocodile & hippos - an excellent trip
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slaird_215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Greetings from Ubizane!

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We are so delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay and always try to give our guests the best experience in the bush! We are sorry to hear that you had a uncomfortable night during the power cut. We will definitively make sure that all our staff are aware of the fuse switch in some of the rooms to ensure that this does not happen again during an electricity cut in the future. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the boma dinner and the food! We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to the area!

Warm Regards
Ettione Ferreira
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Ubizane is easily accessible from Durban and offers a great combination of individual cottages, luxurious lodge facilities, helpful staff and all that set in a well 'stocked' private game reserve.
Upon arrival Hamilton whisked us off on our first game drive and we quickly came across black rhino, giraffes, baboons, wart-hogs, all washed down with coldest and crispest G&Ts you can imagine. Back at the lodge the food was generous and the fire was roaring, perhaps there were too few people around at the time but the overall atmosphere was less than the sum of its parts - but there were only 2 or 3 couples there. The wildlife walking around the lodge made up for rather dull dining, nowhere else can you photo so many different species grazing and playing - from the comfort of your own bed !! Utterly charming and well worth trying for a few days.

Room Tip: we stayed in a 'tree house' - the cottages in the neighbouring lodge also looked nice
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Ubizane is delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the bush experience! We cannot take credit for the wonderful wildlife we have as only nature can take credit for that but we are very glad to hear you had close encounters with the animals and nature.
We are sorry that the atmosphere at dinner wasn’t as expected and we do sometimes go through times where the lodge is very quiet with only two or three guests for dinner which might become too quiet for some but we always encourage suggestions and feedback so we can look at ways of improving the bush experience for our guests.

We really enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews