We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a lot more you could ask for......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is my second trip to Ubizane - 10 years apart. It is lovely, a real treat. Everything is well maintained, clean and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The smile on your face starts from when you arrive at the gate, welcome drink, the lovely rooms with their giant beds. Highly recommended for a short break. I have left feeling relaxed and rested.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Admin at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you so very much for taking a moment of your time to write such a complimentary review regarding your stay at our property, we really appreciate it, and we are so glad that you had a wonderful time again, we work so hard to ensure that our return guests experience the same magic as the first time they come here. Once again thank you for the beautiful compliment, it is much appreciated, and we hope to have you visit us at Ubizane soonest again!!!

Warmest regard

The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

The staff are unprofessional and seemingly untrained. Had a manager that thought he was our best friend and was very awkward.

Good location. But use outside facilities. And eat out. Definitely eat out.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DavidsL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

the good:
-we stayed at the Safari Lodge; very nice accomodation; wildlife like deer and warthog passing by your window!
-decent buffet
the less good:
-staff in the restaurant really too submissive sometimes
-terrible game driver Hamilton; was it the death of Mandela that offset him, i don't know but he drove like a maniac, never said a word during the drive; drove in circles numerous times while we could have explored more of Hluhluwe, and i can go on; almost drove a child from the street at speed of 90+; this guy has issues
-plenty of staff around but we were there for 3 days (full board) before anyone approached about how we were doing; not very customer oriented!

in summary; stay there but do a self drive in Hluhluwe if you have a 4x4; it's a much better experience

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zeefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for two nights in the treehouse lodge last december. We booked full package and man that is a full package. The room was stunning. It felt really private and the animals were just walking underneath the tree house. The food was great and our ranger Alan the best we could have wished for. Besides the big animals he showed us alot of birds and insects he really knew a lot of the animals and vegetation. This was the best two days spend!
I would really recommend this place to everyone

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjlamotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Everyone here at Ubizane is so happy to hear you guys had such a good time! It really makes our day to see reviews like this and we are really grateful that you took the time to praise us so highly. All the best for 2014 and hope to see you again soon!
Regards
The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We returned to the Ubizane Safari Lodge for the 2nd time in 2013, with visitors from Overseas the lodge remains fabulous and five star service. Very clean, modern and comfortable facilities, friendly staff and always a enjoyable stay. Thank you to all the staff for mainting this quality of service.

Room Tip: The outdoor shower self service chalets is always an added experience to this adventure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wannabe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you so much for your continued support! It warms our hearts to have guests come back and visit and we are so happy to hear that we managed to maintain our standards and give you and your group an enjoyable stay.
Best wishes for 2014 and we hope to see you again soon.
The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked into rondavles 18 and 19. Wow we were very impressed. Spotlessly clean, all mod cons, lovely, HUGE, comfy bed. The grounds are well kept as is the pool area. Food at Breakfast and Dinner was delicious....Staff very friendly especially the Ladies at breakfast time. Lots of buck wandering about the grounds and great bird life. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillyDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We are so elated to hear that you and your partner had such a memorable stay with us! And thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write such a shining review. We are so proud to see that so many of our guests enjoy their stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

From being welcomed when arriving till we left we were literally carried on the hands by the friendly staff. The bungalow was clean and looked like a honeymoon suite with flowers and petals all over. The comfort and size and cleanliness need mentioning. Visitors to this Lodge will be very satisfied as animals walk close by and the waterhole is a treat to watch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the waterhole then you can see the game come to drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for sharing this with us! We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our goal has always been to allow our guests to have the best experience possible while staying in our lodge and to see such a positive response really does brighten our day.
We hope to see you again soon and blessings for the New Year!
The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.3 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
146 reviews
3.2 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
7.3 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Bayala Private Safari Lodge and Camp
7.5 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#7 of 33 in Hluhluwe
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubizane Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubizane Wildlife Reserve

Address: Memorial Gate Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £123 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ubizane Wildlife Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zulu for the place of calling, Ubizane Wildlife Reserve is situated a mere 4 Kilometers from Hluhluwe Town and is on the access road to Hluhluwe Umfolozi National Park. Ubizane Wildlife Reserve is an invaluable location for any tourist to experience wildlife while traveling in the surrounding area, including the Greater St Lucia World Heritage Site. Ubizane Wildlife Reserve is situated in the heart of Zululand, but is only a mere two and a half hours drive from Durban's King Shaka Airport. With an expanse of 1200 hectares, this privately owned, low risk Malaria reserve is teaming with wildlife, some of which include: Giraffe, Wildebeest, White Rhino, Ostrich and Zebra, as well as most antelope species. Not to mention the bird life which includes over 450 species! During the start of a brand new era, Ubizane renovations and restorations were undertaken on a large scale , with the emphasis on returning the glory that has stood for more than 50 years and improving with the resources that our advanced modern society has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ubizane Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing