We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Would appreciate more solicitous, informative welcome to Isinkwe.
No hot water in Cicada, but problem fixed when reported. Hot/cold water issues in Genet.
Group members who stayed in Bushbaby were very happy.
Safari with breakfast and lunch in Hlulhuwe was delightful with great animal sightings.
Pool appeared to be neglected.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

If u looking for something quite but with friendly service and a few croc and snake parks around don't miss this place. With a 3 and 1 year old we stayed in the bush baby cabin which was brilliant. I would definitely return for longer. There is also a Cheetah project near by as well as the town for supply's . Bring mosquito repellent as we loved the outside bathroom but the Mosquitos wait for you as there is no plug point in the bathroom so u can plug the electric repellent provided . Well worth the the price and very friendly staff who called the bush babies down from the trees to feed them so that we could take pics.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Daryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

There were fleas(chips) on coverages. The kitchen was disastrous, it was rather a canteen than a restaurant. The service was pitiful and the place was sad and without soul.It's time to make something.



  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Didier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Nice location, great staff, somewhat simple food, and a leak over my bed in our hut (I guess that explain the sour smell?). The communication, booking and payment before we arrived was all easy and without confusions and troubles. In summary: cosy but somewhat in need of renovation! Can be recommended if you don't have high expectations and like rustic living!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johannes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A party of three stayed there in end of dec 2013. I appreciated the value for money and the service in booking thru Gugu, who is the Reception and Booking Manager, who was excellent . However the lodge does not pay a lot attention to many details of upkeep. over six nites there was not a single day of room cleaning or replacement of any essentials, such as TP. Some of the staff were ambivalent at first or/ then positively grumpy, ESPECIALLY the Bar Attendant who simply could not be bothered and was much more interested in texting and watching TV than serving guests. bottom line was that the Attitude was palpably sour at times and it was a big turn off when on holidays.

Room Tip: avoid concrete room 3 at all costs-smells so badly of of mildew and should be demolshed - I hope the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 236jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had a lovely midweek stay at Isinkwe bush camp late October. Even though there were only a few guests the staff went out of their way for us and cooked us delicious meals!
The location is lovely, very peaceful and the cottages are cosy and well kept.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was my second visit to this bush camp. It's a budget alternative to the camps located within the park which tend to be quite a bit more pricey and stuffy. Rooms are basic, the Braii area and pool are wonderful and clean, bush baby's come out at night to be fed and the owner is great to talk to about Hluhluwe game park (I seem to recall he may have some involvement in the park but could be wrong). Would highly recommend for those not wanting to break the bank but wanting to do something a little different.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flibbertiegibbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
2.2 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
0.8 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
7.1 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hluhluwe Backpackers
Hluhluwe Backpackers
#15 of 32 in Hluhluwe
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#7 of 32 in Hluhluwe
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bushbaby Lodge & Camping
Bushbaby Lodge & Camping
#14 of 32 in Hluhluwe
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp

Address: Bushlands Turnoff from N2 | Bushlands, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £21 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The camp is situated 15 km south of Hluhluwe, within indigenous woodland bushveld. Accommodation options consists of a self-catering chalet, en-suite double or twin rooms and standard double or twin rooms, family rooms, dormitories and camping. Our lodge offers meals, breakfast and dinners, next to the swimming pool and entertainment area. We offer 4x4 open-vehicle safaris to Hluhluwe/iMfolozi Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing