We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhino River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rhino River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Alicante, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I spent a very pleasant w/e at the Lodge for our 40th wedding anniversary and the staff could not have been more supportive. Nothing was a problem for them and the game drives were superb. We met some interesting people also staying at the lodge. Our thanks go out to the staff who also prepared a special dinner for us in the boma to recognise our anniversary and this was shared with new friends we met from Oz. The thought and consideration by the lodge to put on this special meal for us was miost unexpected and we had a great time in our boma isolation. Thanks to everyone who made our stay so good and we look forward to visiting again next year.

Alan & Felicity Gray

Room Tip: Our room was fine and clsoe enough to walk to the eating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    51
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
112
148
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fouriesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at Rhino River Lodge and we really enjoyed it. I especially loved the bush walk with Dale, and getting so close to the rhinos. Shona mentioned that you were busy with upgrades, which is a great idea for the bathrooms! Otherwise the beds are comfortable and the rooms are lovely with their patio. Thanks to all for a great time. Let's hope we will be back soon!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Well this past May was my third to the amazing Rhino River Lodge and each visit gets better! Shona and her staff offer personalized service that is second to none from beginning to end. This time we stayed a couple of nights in a cabin and it was very comfortable and spacious. The food is delicious and Symone and her staff were kind enough to accommodate my friend's gluten allergy. Every year we have more wildlife sightings and this one included lion, cheetah, elephants, giraffe, hippo, and many more. Corne was able to get me a Secretary bird and a Verreaux's Eagle Owl. Brilliant! RRL is a hidden gem and such a value. They're making regular improvements to the property and my only suggestion is for a lounge chair or two on the room and chalet patios so I might stretch out with my book and a tasty G&T between game drives! Thanks to the entire staff - see you next year!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely and have small fridges. The two chalets have larger fridges, microwaves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank logansrun98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed as a family of four (kids aged 10 & 8) plus my parents. This was the perfect thing for all of us. The meals were great. The safari drives were fabulous. We saw so much and both guides we had were very knowledgable. They each, in their own way, appealed to my kids' interest in learning more. We were very happy with our accommodation and appreciative that there is lodging for a family of 4. The stairs are steep in the chalet we stayed in but managable. One other reviewer noted the lack of keys. That did make me a bit uncomfortable but we had no problems. If I were visiting alone, I might have felt differently. The staff did everything they could to make us feel welcome. We did not ask for special meals for the kids but worked with what they had. I think if we had asked more in that category they would have worked with us. My husband had some special dietary needs and they worked to make it possible for him to eat the meals at the lodge. All of this came at an incredibly reasonable rate. We would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale A, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your honest review, it is always very helpful for us to get constructive feedback from our guests.
We are very fortunate at Rhino River Lodge that we have never yet had any security concerns. We have never felt the need to lock doors and happily leave keys in vehicles over night. However we do understand that many people would feel more secure if they were able to lock their units, as a result we are reinstating locks and keys for all our chalets and rooms. We hope this addresses any concerns and adds towards guest comfort in the future.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have to admit, I was a bit nervous about this lodge. Most of the places I was staying at were a tad more luxurious, but this was the only lodge that was available for a last minute safari for my husband and I. We had a wonderful time driving up to the lodge from Durban. It was a beautiful drive and as soon as we got to the reserve, we began to see animals.

The one thing that was a little odd was that there were no keys provided to the rooms, though they said they never had an issue. We just locked our stuff in the car, but it is worth noting.

Though we were only there for one night and two game drives (VERY REASONABLY PRICED FOR THIS!), we saw 4 out of the big 5 including lions, rhinos, elephants and water buffalo.

They also went out of their way to help us celebrate our anniversary by giving us a private romantic dinner by the fire, which was lovely.

I would definitely recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenHillJHCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythedale Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

After a wonderful first experience at Rhino River Lodge last year, we decided to return. Again a really good place to visit, switch off from the hectic world we live in and enjoy a bit of spoiling. The welcome at Rhino River Lodge is always warm and welcoming - thank you Shona for that welcome.
We stayed in one of the rooms in the Lodge this time, which was clean and comfortable, but we did have a little nocturnal guest in the form of a mouse, who did enjoy some milk from the little sachets left out for our morning coffee - he sure must have been a healthy little fellow. But after all we are visiting the bush and can expect some local visitors at times, rather a little mouse than a forest cobra!!
With near perfect evenings, we were able to enjoy our meals around the boma at night, under a canopy of stars.
Jenine - who was our Game Ranger for our stay at the Lodge - so impressed us with her care that she took of the guests and her love and knowledge of the African bush. We really appreciated all the little creatures that she stopped to show us and how she spotted them was amazing.
We were thrilled to see three male lions this time round, but the leopard remained shy, Jenine, hopefully by now you have found that beautiful cat.
A second trip to Rhino RIver Lodge was well worth it, but our first memory will always be the greatest.
Our batteries always recharged after a few days in the African bush. Thanks to all the staff for making our time there, one to remember.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

As always a wonderful experience to stay at Rhino River lodge. This is our third visit and every time we feel we have come back to visit friends. It is always a privilege to be able to see such beautiful animals in their natural surroundings. The rangers are so knowledgeable and skilled at their job, The lovely staff in the camp looked after us like VIPs. Will be back again soon.

Room Tip: All good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnandJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
18.3 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
19.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
5.7 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 34 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
5.4 mi away
Thanda Safari
Thanda Safari
#1 of 1 in Thanda Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#9 of 34 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino River Lodge

Property: Rhino River Lodge
Address: | P.O BOX 2950, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhino River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rhino River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhino River Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing