We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended Rhino River Lodge”
Review of Rhino River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhino River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Durban - South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Highly recommended Rhino River Lodge”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The ambiance and style of the Lodge is superb and excellent value for money. I can certainly compliment the chef on the food and selection of meals that were offered. Our accommodation was comfortable with attention to detail.
Thank you Frances for being the most patient and informative ranger and to top it all finding us Black Rhino and Lioness's with cubs. Absolutely the highlight of my trip. The diverse terrain is wonderful to the eye and a photographer's dream.
To Shona and her team we had a great 2 days and wish it had been longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    53
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
121
156
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herrliberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was the third time we have been staying a couple of days with Rhino River lodge. The diversified landscape and the dedicated guidance of the rangers through the park are the strongest arguments for a stay in this lodge. Staff is motivated and the rangers are also helping out in serving the meals and giving advice throughout the day. - On the backside of this, we note that apparently the Lodge does not afford professional cooks anymore. We have been disappointed by the quality of food and by its preparation. Moreover, management has not shown much interest in the guests and their feedback, so that we have come to believe, that the investments into infrastructure and animals during the past two years had to be compensated by reducing operating cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Rhino River Lodge was an exceptional experience. The rooms are large, with mosquito nets over the beds ,a sitting area, a bar fridge, coffee and rusks, and even a can of bug spray, should a creepy crawly manage to find a way under the mosquito net. All staff are very friendly and attentive, without being intrusive. Corné was an excellent guide, with a vast knowledge of birds,animal behavior and unusual facts.The game drive was incredible, with a sighting of 2 male lions only 5 meters away! The meals were outstanding, healthy and tasty, the portions being totally adequate. Compared to other lodges, the price is much lower, without compromising the quality. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone seeking a relaxing, all-inclusive stay, so I am already planning my next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Rock, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our first time to Rhino River Lodge and what a pleasant memorable experience. The hospitality is exquivalent to a 5* lodge. The lodge is very neat and well kept, with clean sparkling pools and delicious food. The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant and our ranger Frances apart from being knowlegable, very considerate about the well-being and comfort of her guests. Game viewing was good with superb sightings. This Lodge comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: The homestead is awsum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathees2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is the second time at Rhino Lodge and just as wonderful. Accommodation and food excellent and Game drives and Rangers superb going out of their way to ensure we saw the animals on our must see list, especially seeing black rhino and the herd of elephants with calves and Male Lions previously sited on first visit. Great relaxing by pool Rates cant be beaten for the fantastic experience. See you again for the next visit to South Africa.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and not telling you my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

First time to Rhino River, but have visited a number of other private lodges over the years.

This rates as one of the best & we would love to go back sometime. All of the staff were very helpful, professional and friendly.
Great game drives twice a day with Frances who gave us lots of information. Searching for animals meant that we were usually back late - not a problem and not pressure to get back!
Thoroughly spoilt with delicious food and well catered for a diabetic in our group.

Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

An awesome place to spend your honeymoon, everyone is friendly, the food is excellent. Dinner is ate under the stars by a fire. Staff goes out of their way to make you feel special. The Rangers make your safari extra ordinary with morning coffee/hot chocolate or afternoon sundowners. My hubby and I had a beautiful time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diveena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
18.7 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
19.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
5.7 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
5.5 mi away
Thanda Safari
Thanda Safari
#1 of 1 in Thanda Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino River Lodge

Property: Rhino River Lodge
Address: | P.O BOX 2950, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhino River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, South African Hotels and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rhino River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhino River Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing