We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhino River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rhino River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The rooms were well appointed and the game drives were good. We were lucky to see a good number of Lions and Rhino but not the remaining three of the big five. But then wild life sighting is a chance. Saw lots of Giraffe and Zebra and Impalas. Got to see Lions mating on two consective days and that was an amazing experience. Breakfast was good but Lunch was a bit too less in terms of variety. It was a purely functional lunch. Guess they could improve on that. Same was the case with dinner. Probably we felt this way because we had already spent 4 nights at the Sabi sands game reserve where Lunch and dinner are far more elaborate affairs.Our tracker Karl was good and the front office did a good job in terms of giving us lot of personal attention. Overall it was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakshmis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    51
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
112
147
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excellent value for money, quality of the rooms were also excellent, Dinner menu was limited, in my opinion, breakfast was excellent and well cooked. We had an overseas young couple who found the experience quite amazing. They saw lioness and her cubs, and a lion being chased by a rhino. Which the ranger explained was a National Geographic moment. On the downside, the pool was badly in need of refurbishment, although very clean. Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We were in chalet no 1, near pool and near dining room. I think chalets are better value than rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We recently stayed here on our visit to South Africa from Vancouver, Canada. We thought it was excellent value. We didn't having soaring expectations so we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our room and the food. We loved the night time fire and eating dinner outdoors at beautifully set tables. We enjoyed meeting other travellers. By far the best part was the safari with our guide Corne. I would never have thought it possible to be so close to lions! Believe me, I kept my hands inside the truck. He was patient and laughed when my son farted when we were supposed to be quiet while viewing the big cats. All in all it was an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Our room had no air conditioning and the wifi is only available in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban - South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The ambiance and style of the Lodge is superb and excellent value for money. I can certainly compliment the chef on the food and selection of meals that were offered. Our accommodation was comfortable with attention to detail.
Thank you Frances for being the most patient and informative ranger and to top it all finding us Black Rhino and Lioness's with cubs. Absolutely the highlight of my trip. The diverse terrain is wonderful to the eye and a photographer's dream.
To Shona and her team we had a great 2 days and wish it had been longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herrliberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was the third time we have been staying a couple of days with Rhino River lodge. The diversified landscape and the dedicated guidance of the rangers through the park are the strongest arguments for a stay in this lodge. Staff is motivated and the rangers are also helping out in serving the meals and giving advice throughout the day. - On the backside of this, we note that apparently the Lodge does not afford professional cooks anymore. We have been disappointed by the quality of food and by its preparation. Moreover, management has not shown much interest in the guests and their feedback, so that we have come to believe, that the investments into infrastructure and animals during the past two years had to be compensated by reducing operating cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Rhino River Lodge was an exceptional experience. The rooms are large, with mosquito nets over the beds ,a sitting area, a bar fridge, coffee and rusks, and even a can of bug spray, should a creepy crawly manage to find a way under the mosquito net. All staff are very friendly and attentive, without being intrusive. Corné was an excellent guide, with a vast knowledge of birds,animal behavior and unusual facts.The game drive was incredible, with a sighting of 2 male lions only 5 meters away! The meals were outstanding, healthy and tasty, the portions being totally adequate. Compared to other lodges, the price is much lower, without compromising the quality. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone seeking a relaxing, all-inclusive stay, so I am already planning my next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Rock, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our first time to Rhino River Lodge and what a pleasant memorable experience. The hospitality is exquivalent to a 5* lodge. The lodge is very neat and well kept, with clean sparkling pools and delicious food. The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant and our ranger Frances apart from being knowlegable, very considerate about the well-being and comfort of her guests. Game viewing was good with superb sightings. This Lodge comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: The homestead is awsum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mathees2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
18.3 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
19.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
5.7 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 34 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#9 of 34 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
5.4 mi away
Thanda Safari
Thanda Safari
#1 of 1 in Thanda Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino River Lodge

Property: Rhino River Lodge
Address: | P.O BOX 2950, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhino River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rhino River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhino River Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing