We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emdoneni Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$146
US$139
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$323
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$221
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
194
79
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
79
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscat tourbeautiful catswild catsfire pitbig catslittle touchescheetah experiencecity lifetwo night stayan amazing experiencenight packagestayed here for two nightshoneymoon suitehluhluwe game reservegreat gamedinner buffetgame drives
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Emdoneni Lodge is such a lovely destination if you are in the mood for Sea and Bush.
They not only have wonderful facilities at the lodge but offer game drives and Fishing charters that is exactly what i need.

The friendly and helpful staff make you feel at home and relaxed. The owners make it special with personal attention to visitors and will go the extra mile to help and accommodate the patrons needs.

An added bonus is the the "cat" project that is not only educational but very informative to all visitors and at the end of this show you can sit down and have a wonderful lite meal and drinks or take more pictures of the animals or just ask more questions to the well trained guides.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivanw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Ivan

Many thanks for your lovely review, it is always a honor to be your host!

Looking forward to another great visit, hopefully soon.

Warm regards
Louis & Cecillie and family
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Had an opportunity last month to visit Emdoneni for one night. As part of our stay we did the tour of the big cat enclosures and really enjoyed the opportunity to get into the enclosures with the cheetahs, Servals and Caracals. We were able to get some great photos and pet the babies. Another rare thing is they are trying to breed for reintroduction the wild cat which is hard to ever see in the wild. The accommodations were nice and the food was very good. Overall a good value and quite close to the highway so a convenient stopover if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool and restaurant seem to be good and avoid long walks
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to do a lovely review for us.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed Emdoneni as much as all our guests do.

Take care and enjoy the Festive season.
Kind regards
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were with a large tour group and did not expect this exceptional Lodge and experience. We loved the grounds sharing with the impala and other animals. The check in was easy even for our large group and the rooms were very nice and updated. The food at the restaurant was also very good and we enjoyed our game drives at Hluhluwe Game Reserve. I had the experience of a lifetime on the cat rehabilitation tour. The trainer was very informative experiencing the feeding of the African Cats and Corval and I was able to pet and lay down with Moya the Cheetah as well as pet the Serval. My friends could not believe my pictures. I was also able to enjoy the pool in the afternoon which was very nice and peaceful. My only regret is that we were only here 2 nights and I would have liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: Our room was pretty far from the restaurant but we did not mind as very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your honest review - it is good to read that you had a great experience with us!

Please do try and come and visit again, would love to meet you in person.

Blessings,
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Pros:
• Cute and intimate lodge where guests can have their own private huts or you share 2 rooms per hut. Interior is clean and homey, felt like a more upscale cabin in the African jungle. The main lodge with the restaurant and open space is also nice and comfortable.
• Good food- we had a special dinner buffet for our tour group and regular daily breakfast buffet. We thoroughly enjoyed dinner- roasted chicken, pasta, spinach and cabbage. For breakfast - loved the beans and fresh scrambled eggs from the egg station. I wish they served muffins at daily and not just at Continental Breakfast. I do have to note that the cocoa puffs cereal was stale and corn bread was not very good.
• So glad we visited the Cat Rehabilitation Center that operates with Emdoneni Lodge (160 RAND). We got to see African Wildcats, servals, cheetahs, and caracals. The highlight was petting cheetahs and baby servals. You can tell the rangers are passionate about animals and take really good care of the cats.

Cons:
• The shower head could be replaced- while the hot water did come pretty quickly...the water pressure wasn't strong and came out too sparsely.
• Wish we had more complimentary WiFi than just 50MB for the first night then having to pay after that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, General Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, happy to read that you had a lovely time at the lodge.

WiFi in SA is extremely expensive and for a small operation like ourselves it is financially not viable to hand out more MB free of charge. To actually have this facility was taken many months of planning and many hours of hard work and it all came with a high financially implications as well. We are surrounded by trees and bush, the antenna to cover your WiFi access is 15 m high! Our guests are just so happy to have access to WiFi and appreciate the effort rather than to complain.

It is not that the shower head has to be replaced, we are making use of a pressure pump system and using bore hole water, a very scarce commodity.

Warm regards
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

From the warm reception and the superb hostess treatment we received from Princess, Tamara and Rebecca we were made to feel welcome. The accommodation and the grounds were perfect, the ability to roam the grounds freely in safety was a great experience. Nala was a gracious indulgent bartender! The only complaint is that we cannot stay longer. You will not lose any weight during your stay at Emdoneni as the food is plentiful and delicious.

We can't rave enough about the care to the cats that is given by Dumasane. Spending time getting know him and meeting the cats he cares so well for is a once in a lifetime experience that will be forever appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for posting this great review and thank you for especially mentioning the staff that made your stay at our lodge a memorable one.

It is with reviews like these that make us and our wonderful team want to strive to always ensure that our guests have great memories of their stay. The lovely description of the lodge and our facilities, we are sure this will assist other TripAdvisor clients in making the correct decisions as where to stay.

We will surely pass on your kind words to all and we hope that you visit us soon again!

Zululand greetings
Louis & Cecillie Nel
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews