We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on our doorstep”
Review of Emdoneni Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emdoneni Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We live in Richards Bay and had heard for years about this place you can go to spend time with the cheetah's. So at last we decided to give it a try, and booked for an overnight which because we booked on their website included; dinner, bed and breakfast and a wild cat tour. We arrived early, but were still treated with a warm welcome, refreshments and a tour of the hotel, while the staff hurried to fix up our room. This was a lovely surprise because we were early, the room was beautiful, so tastefully done, aircon, fan, and a sweet gift awaiting us. The tour was amazing, so interesting and to think of sitting next to cheetahs was just breath taking, our guide was so knowledgeable and friendly as was all the staff. Food was good, and lots of it, sometimes we need to remember in live in Africa and its a wild and beautiful country!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arty336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest

Your review makes all the hard work in Hospitality worth all the effort. Thank you for the honest feedback and will surely try and be even better when you re-visit again.

Kind regards
Cecillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Emdoneni Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

A few weeks ago we took our son to Emdoneni Lodge and had an awesome weekend getaway. The accommodation was comfortable and clean, the wild cat encounter was amazing and the food was excellent, we'll definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BD0nnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest

Looking forward to see you back at the Lodge. Your review has proven that we are on the right track.

Looking forward to see you back at the lodge.
Warm regards
Cecillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay during May 2014. We found the lodge to be great value for money. The rooms were very clean and we enjoyed having tea and coffee making facilities and a mini fridge. The staff were all very firendly. The breakfasts were super! The portions at dinner were large. We really enjoyed the starters and main course but found the desserts needed some improvement. An advantage of staying at the lodge is that you can have a private cheetah tour ( with other hotel guests) earlier in the morning than the normal tour. The individual attention was great and the time very convenient. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and wish Emdoneni success with their breeding program. We have recommended the tour to several friends already.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Cheryl

Many thanks for your lovely review.

Warm regards
Cecillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed back in February for 3nights . The first night we sat around the fire with a couple of other guests , which was really nice . We stayed a little later to see all the zebra and impala wonder right up past the pool which was really cool to see .
Our room was fab , loved the idea of outdoor shower ! Very clean and staff amazing , special thanks to Stiaan , mishek and pileh for making our stay a memorable one .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest

What a great review! Many thanks for taking the time to do this review. We all at Emdoneni work hard to do the best for our guests and these reports tell us that we are on the right track. I will portray your special thanks to our staff!

Emdoneni greetings
Louis & Cecillie
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was a very lovely place to stay for the weekend. Staff members were friendly. The food was always very well prepared. The rooms are spacious and beautiful set up in a lovely area. The Cheetah feeding was great to do. Kids would enjoy this. Wi-fi was very weak. But overall a lovely place, beautiful rooms and excellent food. I would highly recommend Emdoneni Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjibbolet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guests

These type of reviews makes all the hard work effortless! Thanks for your honest reviews.

Many thanks
Louis & Cecillie
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

If you want to have a great "wild cat" experinece, Emdoneni Lodge is the place to go. Over and above the cat tour, the accomodation facilities, food and fantastic service from staff and owners themselves make it a truly enjoytable stay. I have been to many lodges over the years and this would rank as one of the best. Will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear André & Family

It was great to read your comments on TripAdvisor! We love what we do and if our guests are happy we are thrilled. We are looking forward to be your host in the near future.

Warm regards
Louis & Cecillie
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

These owners definitely know a thing or two about hospitality. We felt so welcome and valued. All the staff were super friendly and the rooms were spotless. The decor of the lodge was very homely with fresh flowers everywhere. This is a 5 star wannabe lodge. I found many other lodges in the area which were much more expensive and they included 2 game drives in their package. So if you cannot afford the 5 star package then I highly recommend this as you can still choose to do a game drive and it turns out much cheaper yet you still get the bush lodge experience without the frills. You can also do your own game drive but we did one game drive with the lodge and we got to see a lot more. Having the cheetah's sleeping right next door is very exciting and every night we woke up to buck next to our chalet. We also went for 2 walks in the lodge's reserve and saw buck, zebra and blou wildebeest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenduP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guests

Wow! a 5 star wannabe compliment!! this is where we aim to be, one day... Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review. We really appreciate this and we as owners are very committed to do the best possible for our guests.

Warm regards
Louis & Cecillie
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
6.5 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
133 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
6.9 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
6.4 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#7 of 32 in Hluhluwe
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emdoneni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emdoneni Lodge

Address: District Road 123 | Bushlands, Hluhluwe, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £105 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emdoneni Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the 2015 voting period, Emdoneni Lodge has won: Global Winner in the Luxury Game Lodge category of the World Luxury Hotel Awards. If you ever dreamt of getting close to nature, interacting with tame cats like Cheetah, Emdoneni Lodge is the place to visit! Located in the heart of Zululand lies Emdoneni Lodge. The lodge offers unique opportunities for the visitor, as you get up close and personal with local wildlife. From sitting by the pool watching Zebra, Nyala, duiker and impala in their natural Sand Forest habitat, to coming face to face with Cheetah, Serval, Caracal and African Wild Cats at the Cat Sanctuary! Air-conditioned, en-suite rooms allow you to escape the heat of the day, and in the evenings you have a variety of meals to choose from at the buffet restaurant. Dinner in the Boma adds a different atmosphere as you eat under the African night sky, and get a glimpse into one of South Africa's great cultures with our Zulu dancers. End off your evening with a night-cap in our cosy bar or a chat in front of the fireplace. Your Zululand experience would not be complete without visiting nearby Hluhluwe/Imfolozi Game Park in one of the Lodges' game vehicles, or taking a trip to St Lucia to view some Hippo's and crocodiles on a lazy afternoon boat ride. Other activities on offer include Fishing charters, visiting the nearby Zulu cultural village, quad biking, horse riding or spending the day on the infamous Cape Vidal and Sodwana Bay beaches. Emdoneni Lodge offers the visitor a chance to experience Zululand at its' best. Centrally located and close to the main attractions that Zululand has to offer! Not long dirt roads to travel on.... A Home away from home!Your hosts Louis and Cecillie Nel look forward to meeting you, and from all the staff at Emdoneni - Salani Kahle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Emdoneni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emdoneni Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing