We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emdoneni Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp(Hluhluwe Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
194
79
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
79
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscat tourbeautiful catswild catsfire pitbig catslittle touchescheetah experiencecity lifetwo night stayan amazing experiencenight packagestayed here for two nightshoneymoon suitehluhluwe game reservegreat gamedinner buffetgame drives
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a great weekend with our 6 year old and the lodge was very accommodating. It was a breath of fresh air not to have to worry about that.

We were treated so great, it was like a home away from home.
The cat tour was fantastic and the Game drive was so professional.

Thanks
Monica

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonvdBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Monica

All our guests are dear to us and we strive to treat the all like kings and queens!

Kind regards
Cecillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our first holiday on the North Coast,and loved every minute of it. The accommodation was comfortable,neat and clean, the grounds well kept,and the cat enclosures well designed.Easily accessible from the N2.
The tours are extremely informative,and the guide was friendly and patient.
Was really impressed with the friendliness and willingness of the staff,especially the catering team.We were always well received and enjoyed the large variety of meals prepared freshly every day.
Thank you,team for the hospitality that was metered out to us.I am still singing your praises,after a month.We will certainly be back !!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyG204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Mandy

We appreciate the singing of praise!

Regards
Cecillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very peaceful and tranquil getaway.
Lovely wildlife interaction.
Food and wine were superb.
Perfect for couples and kids.
Activities were great at Emdoneni and surrounding areas.Game drives are a must!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin84100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Kevin

Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the lodge. We pride ourselves in the service and quality to all our guests.

Regards
Cecillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I have always wanted to see the cats up close, some of them very difficult to see in the wild. The 'up close and personal' aspect was an added bonus, as was the very professional talk on each species.
The room was clean and comfortable, the food unexpectedly good, the staff very pleasant and friendly, and, besides the cat tour, we had time to explore the western shores of St Lucia and have a few elephant encounters in Hluhluwe/Umfolozi on the way back to Durban.
All in all a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibarrow59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Barrow family

Many thanks for the time to do this review for us. Full scoring in all areas show that we are right on track!

Looking forward to see you back at the lodge.

Kind regards
Louis & Cecillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend at Emdoneni Lodge. Accommodation was very comfortable and clean; the food was superb and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The 'up close' interaction with the cheetahs was truly amazing and all in all a fantastic trip to the Hluhluwe area which was our first visit. We will most certainly be back to explore further!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Awesome guest

Thank you for your honest review and feedback, These reviews makes us work even harder to service our guests in the best possible way.

Looking forward to have you back at the lodge.

Kind regards
Cecillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews